LibGuides: Mining Management: Private Companies

Finding Private Company Information

Private company information is much more difficult to find than information about publicly-traded companies. You may only be able to find a brief profile, contact information, senior executives, date of incropriaton and sometimes broad revenue estimates, which are usually self-reported.

It is important to do a literature search of scholarly, trade, and popular articles to uncover more information about private companies.

Online Private Company Resources

S&P Metals and Mining (Capital IQ Pro)
First time users create unique login using @yorku.ca or @schulich.yorku.ca email. Provides coverage of private/subsidiary mining and metals companies. To access, select "Advanced Search" at the top of the browser window. Under the "Companies & Securities" tab, select "Companies & Organizations." In the filters on the left, select "Include Private Companies" in addition to any other search crtieria (geography, company name, etc.)

Can also create custom company screeners and alerts by clicking on the "Screener" tab near the top of the browser window.

Check out this user guide for installing and using S&P Metals & Mining's Office Add-in. To use the Excel add-in off-campus, follow York's instructions for setting up a VPN.
PrivCo
First time users need to create a unique login using their @schulich.yorku.ca or yorku.ca email. Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo also provides information on private investors, private M&A deals, and venture capital funding rounds.

Click on "Private Companies" tab > scroll down to "Manufacturing & Industrial" > Expand categories > select "Mining & Refining". Additionally, can search for companies by name or by SIC code.
Hoovers
A database containing information on public and private enterprises worldwide. Public company information typically includes business description, industry information, financials and stock information, news, competitors list, key people and contacts. To create a competitors list, choose the "Build a List" tab > Use criteria such as geography, SICs, NAICs, and other fields to create a list of mining and metals companies.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Can access private company coverage through the company dossier feature. Select the "Search by Content Type" tab (above the red search box) > Click "Dossier(Company, Executive, & Industry)" > Select "Create a Company List" > Use the "Company Type" drop-down list to select "All private" > Then use SIC, NAICS, and other criteria to limit your search to specific metals and mining industries and geographies.
Bloomberg
Bloomberg database includes private companies. Use the PSRC, then select GO to display the Private company screener function to access private company lists or an individual company. Limited financial data available.

Print Directories

Canadian key business directory. by Dun & Bradstreet Canada
Call Number: HG 4090 Z5 C3 Bronfman Reference
ISBN: 03150879
Scott's directories
Call Number: T12.5 C22 Bronfman Reference
Regional directories with company listings sorted alphabetically, geographically and by SIC code
Ontario business to business sales & marketing directory by Canadian Business Information.
Call Number: HF 3229 O5 O56 Bronfman Reference
ISBN: 12035246
Includes businesses by city, industry and SIC code.
Ward's business directory of U.S. private and public companies by Gale Research Inc.
Call Number: HD 2709 W37 Bronfman Reference
ISBN: 10429190
Eight volumes provide alphabetical listings of companies containing company name, address, phone numbers, websites, basic financial figures, SIC codes and company type.
ONLINE ACCESS: Click here to access this resource
D&B million dollar directory by Dun and Bradstreet, Inc.
Call Number: HC 102 M5 Bronfman Reference
ISBN: 10934812
Includes basic information for both public and private American companies.

Using Articles to Find Private Company Information

When looking for information about private companies, articles can often be a very useful source of information (ex: articles in trade magazines, the popular press or newspapers). Explore our Finding Business Articles guide to get tips for searching York's various article databases.