Mining Management: Public Companies

First time users create unique login using @yorku.ca or @schulich.yorku.ca email when oncampus.

Company reports include a wealth of information on Canadian, U.S. and international public and private mining and metals companies. Includes exploration activity, production and reserves, assets and operations, M&A, stock prices, corporate structure, financials, and much more.

To access, select the "Advanced Search" link at the top of the browser window > Select the "Companies and Securities" tab, then "Companies & Organizations." Use the filters at left to locate companies by name, industry, geography, trading symbol, and more. You can also screen companies using entries under the "Screener" tab near the top of the browser window

Check out this user guide for installing and using the S&P Metals & Mining Office Add-in. To use the Excel add-in off-campus, follow York's instructions for setting up a VPN.

Provides corporate and financial data for publicly traded companies worldwide including detailed business descriptions, competitors, corporate histories, annual reports, up to 15 years of financial statements, information on subsidiaries, ownership and more. Also supports searching and downloading of SEC government filings (U.S. companies) and SEDAR filings (Canadian companies). Can also use SIC, NAICS, and Mergent Industry Codes to perform searches on specific mining and metals companies.

Includes a wealth of information on publicly-traded companies. To access company dossier content in Nexis Uni, scroll to the bottom of the website > Click Business under Discover Topics > Click Find a Company under Company Dossier > Type Company's Name in Company Name field and click Search > Select Company from results list to access the company's report landing page

Investext provides access to analyst reports for publicly-traded companies. The reports are produced by analysts from investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports include analyses on company and industry financial performance, SWOTs, M&A, trends, challenges, and much more. Investext includes current and historical analyst reports. Quick search tips: (1) Search for a publicly-traded company’s most recent analyst reports using the Company Search field > On report landing page, click Reports tab > click Broker Research reports link; (2) To conduct more advanced searches such as historical reports, initiating coverage reports, or reports from specific investment banks, click on the Investext tab (far right-hand side tab) to go to the advanced search form.

A database containing information on public and private enterprises worldwide. Public company information typically includes business description, industry information, financials and stock information, news, competitors list, key people and contacts. To create a competitors list, choose the "Build a List" tab > Use criteria such as geography, SICs, NAICs, and other fields to create a list of mining and metals companies.

Provides information about public companies worldwide including business description, subsidiaries, competitors, major products, and SWOT analyses (for 2,700 or approx 10% of companies covered). Can search companies by selecting the "Metals and Mining" industry sector under "Companies" on the home page. Can further refine using right-hand side facets.

Detailed current and historical stock information on TSX companies, including daily and monthly index data. Daily data are available from January, 1975 while monthly data are available from December, 1949. It is updated annually. This database can be searched by company or by date. Potentially a great research tool, as many major mining companies are listed on the TSX.

Provides an overview of companies, a few years of financial data and specialized reports such as financial health and ratio comparison. Click on "Companies/Markets" tab on the menu at the top of the screen to begin search. After displaying the company use the links in the left navigation bar to find the information.