LibGuides: Mining Management: Newspapers

About Newspapers

Searching newspapers can provide valuable insight on current events issues for the mining industry, as well as public sentiment surrounding certain mining companies and mining projects. The library's subscriptions to many historical newspaper databases also help facilitate the researching of historical issues in the mining industry.

Quick Guides: Finding Articles

Canadian Newspaper Article Databases

Try searching the following newspaper databases using more natural language, such as:

mining industries | mineral industries | specific commodity names (ex: gold | iron ore) | specific mining company names (ex: Barrick | Teck Resources | PotashCorp) | specific geographic areas or terms (ex: Northern Ontario | Ring of Fire)

S&P Metals and Mining (Capitl IQ Pro)
First time users create unique login using @yorku.ca or @schulich.yorku.ca email. Provides extensive mining news coverage for the global market from outside sources, while also creating their own proprietary content. Hover over the "News" tab and select area of interest (e.g. industry news, operations & strategy, project developments) to filter news results. Can also create custom email alerts by clicking on the "Create Alert" button on the upper right-hand side.
Canadian Newsstand
A searchable full-text database of major Canadian daily newspapers. Major titles include Calgary Herald (1988-), Edmonton Journal (1989-), Halifax Daily News (1990-), Montreal Gazette (1985-), National Post (1998-), Ottawa Citizen (1985-), Toronto Star (1985-), Vancouver Sun (1987-). Select the Publications tab for a full listing. There may be a 2-7 day delay for the most recent issues.
CBCA Current Events
An index to over 50 Canadian newspapers, magazines, newswires and broadcaster transcripts. Also includes some American and British publications that cover current events (e.g. The Economist, U.S. News & World Report).
Factiva
This index provides access to over 1,000 newspapers including the full text of the Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post. Can search for mining specific news by clicking on "Industry" tab > Click on "Basic Materials/Resources" > Select "Mining/quarrying".
Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Toronto Star (1894-2011)
Covering 1894-2011, this resource is a full-page searchable archive of the Toronto Star.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail (1844-2010)
Provides full text-access to Globe and Mail articles from 1844 to 2010.

International Newspaper Article Databases

Try searching the following newspaper databases using more natural language, such as:

mining industries | mineral industries | specific commodity names (ex: gold | iron ore) | specific mining company names (ex: Barrick | Teck Resources | Glencore Xstrata) | specific project names (ex: Pascua Lama | Las Bambas) | specific geographic areas (ex: Peru | Nigeria)

SNL Metals and Mining
First time users create unique login using @yorku.ca or @schulich.yorku.ca email. Provides extensive mining news coverage for the global market from outside sources, while also creating their own proprietary content. Hover over the "News" tab and select area of interest (industry news, hires and fires, project developments, etc) to filter news results. Can also create custom email alerts by clicking on the gear icon in the upper right-hand side > click on "Modify settings, alerts, & portfolios".
Factiva
This index provides access to more than 6,500 magazines, including industry-specific journals and newsletters, 270+ newswires, including Dow Jones, Reuters and The Associated Press, 160+ Media Programs, with transcripts from BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC and more, 9,000 Web sites in more than 20 languages and more than 20,000 Company Reports. Can search for mining specific news by clicking on "Industry" tab > Click on "Basic Materials/Resources" > Select "Mining/quarrying".
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Indexing and full-text access to over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources from around the world. Tutorial
Financial Times- Historical Archive
Every item printed in the paper, from 1888-2010, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page. Topics covered include industry, energy, international politics, management, personal finance and arts. Can search only the "mining news" section by checking off the "mining news" box when entering the search page.
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2010
Provides access to the Economist online as a fully searchable digital collection from 1843-2010. Articles etc. are provided in PDF format, i.e. as they appear in the print version. Includes news, analysis, commentary, editorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photograph, as well as special surveys and supplements on countries and industries. Can limit to business news only from search page.
New York Times
The New York Times (1851-2005) from Proquest offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Wall Street Journal. Eastern ed.
The Wall Street Journal (Jan 2 1984-) from Proquest provides indexing and full-text access. Full text of the Wall Street Journal July 8 1889- also available in Bronfman Microtext. Current issues available in Bronfman Fireplace Lounge.