LibGuides: Social Assistance Resources: Ontario

Disability Benefits

Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP)
ODSP provides income support, benefits for health costs and other disability supports
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if:
- you are at least 18 years old
- you are an Ontario resident
- you are in financial need and
- you meet the program’s definition of a person with a disability, or be a member of a Prescribed Class

Financial need - costs of your household’s basic living expenses are more than your household’s income and assets. Only a caseworker can decide if you are financially eligible for ODSP.

Person with a disability is defined as:
- you have a substantial mental or physical impairment that is continuous or recurrent, and is expected to last one year or more and
- your impairment directly results in a substantial restriction in your ability to work, care for yourself, or take part in community life and
- your impairment, its duration and restrictions have been verified by an approved health care professional

Prescribed Class - specific categories of people who do not have to go through the disability adjudication process to qualify for ODSP Income Support.
ODSP Health Benefits
These benefits can help you with many different types of costs, including health, dental, vision, assistive devices, and other expenses related to disability or medical conditions.
more...less...
Please see the Ontario Benefits document for extended details on coverage, application, and extended benefits.
ODSP Disability Related Benefits
The Assistive Devices Program generally pays for up to 75% of the cost of approved assistive devices. Examples include mobility devices, visual aids, hearing aids, orthotic or prosthetic devices, speech devices, and more.
more...less...
Please review the Ontario Benefits document for detailed information on eligibility, application and coverage.
ODSP Employment Incentives and Benefits
If you have a disability, ODSP employment supports may help you find work, keep a job, start a business or advance your career. Community-based service providers deliver ODSP employment supports.
more...less...
Please review the Ontario Benefits document for information on eligibility, application and coverage.
Housing Stabilization Fund
The Housing Stabilization Fund (HSF) provides money for emergency housing needs to people receiving financial assistance through Ontario Works or income support through the Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP) in the city of Toronto (Other cities may have similar programs, this information is specific for Toronto).
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if:
- you are unhoused and living an emergency shelter or the street
- you are housed and moving within the Province of Ontario because of domestic violence, fire/flood or to accommodate a change in family size
- you are housed and moving within the Province of Ontario due to a high rent situation or eviction
Transition Child Benefit
If you receive assistance from the Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP) or Ontario Works, you may be eligible for the Transition Child Benefit.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if:
- you receive ODSP Income Support
- you have children under 18 years of age
- you are not receiving the Ontario Child Benefit or the National Child Benefit Supplement (NCBS), or are receiving less than the maximum amount of the Ontario Child Benefit for any of your children you may be eligible for the Transition Child Benefit.
Ontario Works
Find support for financial assistance, benefits, and employment assistance through the Ontario Works program.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if:
- you need help with your living expenses, meaning you do not have enough money to cover your immediate family’s living expenses
- you are 16 or older
- you live in Ontario
For more information on benefits, programs, and coverage, please see the Ontario Benefits document.

For more in-depth information on Ontario Disability Support Program and Ontario Works benefits, application process, coverage, and details, please see the Ontario Benefits document on this page.

Health Benefits

Ontario Drug Benefit Program (ODB)
Find assistance to help pay for prescription drugs if you are 65 or over.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify early if:
- you are living in a:
- long-term care home
- home for special care
- Community Home for Opportunity
- you are 24 years of age or younger and not covered by a private insurance plan
- you are receiving professional home and community care services
- you are receiving benefits from Ontario Works or Ontario Disability Support Program
- you are enrolled in the Trillium Drug Program
Trillium Drug Program
The Trillium Drug Program (TDP) is intended for Ontario residents who have high prescription drug costs in relation to their net household income.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if:
- you live in Ontario
- you have a valid Ontario health card number
- you do not already qualify for the Ontario Drug Benefit program (for example, you are not enrolled in a program such as Ontario Works)
- you do not have an insurance plan that pays for 100% of your drugs
- you spend about 4% or more of your after-tax household income on prescription-drug costs

Please see the Ontario Benefits document on this page for in-depth information and a full list of medical services, drugs, and program coverage available in Ontario.

Child Care Benefits

Child Care Fee Subsidy
Get help to pay for the care of your child under 13 years old. Eligibility is based on an income test and the cost of childcare in your region. See the link for information on Toronto.
Ontario Child Benefit
The Ontario Child Benefit gives low-income to moderate-income families up to $1,509 per child per year to help with the cost of raising children. You can receive this benefit if you are working or if you are not working.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if:
- you are the primary caregiver of a child under 18
- you are a resident of Ontario
- you have filed and had assessed your previous year's income tax return, and so has your spouse or common-law partner, and
- you have registered your child for the federal Canada Child Tax Benefit
Healthy Smiles Ontario
Get free preventive, routine and emergency dental services for children and youth 17 years old and under from low-income households.
more...less...
Children 17 and under are automatically enrolled when they or their family receive:
- Ontario Works
- Temporary Care Assistance
- Ontario Disability Support Program
- Assistance for Children with Severe Disabilities
Assistance for Children with Severe Disabilites Program
If you are a parent caring for a child with a severe disability, you may be able to receive financial support through the Assistance for Children with Severe Disabilities (ACSD) Program. Depending on the income and size of the family, the program may provide between $25 and $500 a month to help with various costs, including travel, parental relief or respite, assistive devices, prescription drugs, and vision and dental care.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if you are a parent or a guardian of a child who is under 18 years of age (17 and under), lives at home and who has a severe disability.
Your eligibility and the amount of assistance you receive is based on a combination of factors:
- your household income
- size of your family
- severity of your child’s disability
- extraordinary costs related to your child’s disability
Temporary Care Assistance
If you are an adult and you are temporarily responsible for the care of a child who is in financial need, you may be eligible for temporary care assistance on their behalf.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if:
- the child is in the temporary care of the adult;
- the child is in financial need;
- the child is not a dependent child for the purposes of Ontario Works or the Ontario Disability Support Program
- the adult providing the care does not have a legal obligation to support the child; and
- the adult caregiver is not receiving compensation for caring for the child under the Child, Youth and Family Services Act.
Blind-Low Vision Early Intervention Program
This program is available for families with children who have a visual impairment from birth until school entry, offering family support, intervention services and consultation services.
Ontario Autism Program
This program offers support to all eligible families of children and youth on the autism spectrum. Children and youth who have been diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) by a qualified professional are eligible for the program. Children receive services and supports until the age of 18.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if:
- your child is under age 18
- you currently live in Ontario
- your child has a written diagnosis of autism from a qualified professional

Your child’s written diagnosis must include:
- your child’s full name and date of birth
- the date of your child’s assessment
- a statement indicating that the child meets the diagnostic criteria for autism spectrum disorder
- the qualified professional’s name and credentials
Children's Rehabilitation Services
Children’s rehabilitation services support children with special needs to participate fully at home, school and in the community.
more...less...
Children and youth up to 19 years, or up to age 21 if they are in school, can access rehabilitation services, including physiotherapy, occupational therapy and speech-language therapy, if they have:
- physical disabilities
- developmental disabilities
- communication difficulties and disorders

For additional information regarding benefits and coverage, please see the Ontario Benefits document on this page.

Seniors Benefits

Ontario Guaranteed Annual Income System payments for seniors (GAINS)
GAINS provides a monthly, non-taxable benefit to low-income Ontario seniors.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if:
- you are 65 years or older
- you have lived in Ontario for the past 12 months or for a total of 20 years since turning age 18
- you have been a Canadian resident for 10 years or more
- you receive the federal OAS pension and GIS payments
- you have an annual private income of up to $1,992 if you are a single senior or up to $3,984 if you are a senior couple. Private income may include money from a private pension, the Canada Pension Plan, bank interest, etc.
Ontario Seniors Dental Care Program
The new Ontario Seniors Dental Care Program is a government-funded dental care program. It provides free, routine dental services for low-income seniors who are 65 years of age or older. Coverage includes check ups, polishing, repair, x-rays, teeth removal, anaesthesia, treating infection and pain, and gum conditions.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if:
- you are 65 years of age or older
- you are a resident of Ontario
- you meet the income requirements: an annual net income of $22,200 or less for a single senior; a combined annual net income of $37,100 or less for a couple; have no other form of dental benefits, including private insurance or dental coverage under another government program such as Ontario Works, Ontario Disability Support Program or Non-Insured Health Benefits
Ontario Seniors' Public Transit Tax Credit
The Ontario Seniors' Public Transit Tax Credit is a refundable tax credit to help seniors with public transit costs.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if:
- you are 65 years old or older on the last day of the previous tax year that you're claiming the credit
- you live in Ontario by the end of that year
Senior Homeowners' Property Tax Grant
The Ontario Senior Homeowners' Property Tax Grant helps low-to-moderate income seniors with the cost of their property taxes.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if you or your spouse:
- paid Ontario property tax for the year
- met either of the following income requirements: you were single, divorced or widowed and earned less than $50,000; you were married or living common-law and you and your spouse/common-law partner earned a combined income of less than $60,000
- owned and occupied your principal residence
- were 64 years of age or older
- were a resident of Ontario

For more detailed information on the application process, coverage amounts and more, please see the Ontario Benefits document on this page.

Housing Benefits

Long-Term Care Home Rate Reduction Program
Get help paying for long-term care home basic accommodation costs. If you require long-term care but don't have enough income to pay for a basic room, you may be eligible for a subsidy
more...less...
To qualify, your net income and accommodation type is taken into consideration (only basic is covered). You also need to be receiving all federal and provincial benefits that you are eligible for (including old age security, ODSP, guaranteed income supplement, GAIN)
Ontario Electricity Support Program
The OESP is an Ontario Energy Board (OEB) program that lowers electricity bills for lower-income households. The OESP provides a monthly credit to eligible customers based on household income and household size. The OESP credits are applied directly to eligible customers’ bills.
more...less...
Online application required.
Subsidized Rent (Rent-Geared-to-Income Subsidy)
Rent-Geared-to-Income (RGI) or subsidized housing is a housing subsidy or benefit offered by the City of Toronto to make rent affordable for households. In most cases, the rent at a subsidized unit is set to be 30 per cent of a household’s total monthly income before taxes and adjustments. If you receive social assistance the rent is based on the rent benefit set by the Ontario government.
more...less...
Anyone may apply for RGI as long as the following criteria are met:
- At least one member of the household is 16 years or older
- At least one member of the household is able to live independently, with or without support services
- Each member of the household can prove status in Canada as one of the following: a Canadian citizen; a permanent resident of Canada; an applicant for Canadian permanent resident status; or a refugee claimant or Convention refugee
Home and Vehicle Modification Program
The Home and Vehicle Modification Program provides home or vehicle modifications to eligible individuals and families to enable children and adults, including seniors, with disabilities that restrict mobility to continue living safely in their homes, participate in their communities and avoid job loss.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if:
- you are a permanent Ontario resident, AND
- you are a person with a substantial impairment caused by bodily injury, birth defect or illness that is ongoing and/or recurring and is expected to last one year or more, AND
- the impairment impedes mobility and results in substantial restriction in activities of daily living for example, personal care and functioning in the community
Ontario Emergency Assistance
If you are in an emergency and you live in Ontario, you might be eligible for emergency assistance, which will provide you with temporary financial support.
more...less...
You are eligible to qualify if:
- you live in Ontario
- you are in a crisis or emergency situation
- you do not have enough money for things like food and housing
- you are NOT ELIGIBLE if you receive money from Ontario Works or the Ontario Disability Support Program

For additional information, including coverage information, application process and details on eligibility, please see the Ontario Benefits document on this page. As well, find details on additional housing benefits programs, including:
- Energy Affordability Program
- Home Winterproofing Program
- Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LEAP)
- Emergency Energy Fund (EEF)
- Property Tax, Water, and Solid Waste Relief Programs
- Property Tax Increase Cancellation Program
- Property Tax Increase Deferral Program
- Water Rebate and Solid Waste Rebate Programs
- Homelessness Rent Help (Toronto)
- Second Career

Ontario Benefits Coverage

Ontario Benefits
This document provides in-depth information, including links and additional coverage details, for understanding and accessing the social assistance resources from the Ontario government that are listed on this page.
Last updated June 2022