LibGuides: Social Assistance Resources: Saskatchewan

Income and Social Assistance

Saskatchewan Income Support (SIS)
- If you or your family need help to meet the basic costs of living due to low income or unemployment, you can apply for financial help through the Saskatchewan Income Support program. This includes coverage for shelter, health and safety, short term emergency assistance, child care, relocation assistance, funeral benefits, and more. Please see the link for details.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- you are a Canadian Citizen, permanent resident or have refugee status;
- you are living in Saskatchewan;
- you are 18 years or older;
- you have no income or low income; and
- you have explored every other reasonable way to support yourself, including employment, seeking child support, etc.
Education and Training Incentive (ETI)
The ETI offers financial assistance to adult learners with low incomes to help them complete their high school education, participate in workforce and skills training programs and improve employment opportunities, start a career and become more self-sufficient.
In addition to financial assistance, learners have ongoing access to individualized planning and supports to help them accomplish their training and employment goals.
more...less...
Adult learners with low incomes may be eligible for the ETI if they are:
- enrolled in an approved program such as Adult Basic Education (ABE), workforce development or skills training program through an approved training provider (post-secondary institution or career service supplier); and
- eligible to receive financial support through the Saskatchewan Income Support (SIS) or Saskatchewan Assured Income for Disability (SAID) programs.

Training providers will determine ongoing ETI eligibility and will work with students to support their success.
Saskatchewan Employment Supplement
The Saskatchewan Employment Supplement (SES) provides assistance to families with lower incomes who have children.
It is a monthly payment that supplements income from a job, farming, self-employment, or from child or spousal support.
more...less...
Eligibility
To be eligible for SES you must:
- have children under the age of 13 years;
- receive more than $125 each month from employment, self-employment, farming and/or child or spousal support;
- reside in Saskatchewan; and
- hold a valid Saskatchewan Health Services card.

For more detailed information on these income and social assistance programs, including coverage, eligibility, and application process, please see the Saskatchewan Benefits document on this page.

Child Care Benefits

Child Care Subsidy
The Child Care Subsidy is a monthly subsidy that is available to families to help them with the costs of regulated child care.
more...less...
In order to be eligible for the subsidy, you must:
- be the parent or guardian of a child under the age of 13;
- use a regulated child care facility;
- be a resident of Saskatchewan; and
- have a valid reason for child care such as employment, education or special health needs.

For more information on Child Care Subsidy, including rates, eligibility, and how to apply, please see the Saskatchewan Benefits document on this page.

Health Benefits

Family Health Benefits
A range of health benefits are available for low-income working families who meet the standards of an income test or are receiving the Saskatchewan Employment Supplement.
more...less...
Ministry of Social Services determines the eligibility for these benefits.
Special Support Program
The Special Support Program is an income-tested program that helps residents with their drug costs in relation to their income. Applicants will receive a deductible and a co-payment for each calendar year.
more...less...
The Ministry of Health determines the eligibility for this program based on the income information provided in the application and the ministry's records.

Individuals or families who are covered under federal government programs, such as the federal Non-Insured Health Benefits Program or Veterans Affairs, are not eligible for the Special Support Program. Families who receive the Guaranteed Income Supplement (GIS), Seniors Income Plan (SIP) or Family Health Benefits may also apply for this program.
Individualized Funding for Home Care
Home care helps people that need acute, palliative, and supportive care to stay independent at home. It also helps reduce unnecessary hospital admissions and the length of hospital stays.You or your guardian may be eligible to receive funding based on assessed need – called individualized funding – to arrange and manage your own supportive services for home care.
more...less...
You may be eligible for individualized funding if you are:
- Eligible for home care support services;
- Require long-term supportive care;
- Capable of managing the funding successfully; and
- Willing to accept the responsibilities
Emergency Assistance for Prescription Drugs
Residents who require immediate treatment with covered prescription drugs and are unable to cover their share of the cost may access a one-time Emergency Assistance.
more...less...
The applicant is required to provide the following information at the pharmacy:
- patient identification (health services card number);
- pharmacy identification (name, number);
- name and cost of the drug(s) required immediately; and
- reason for the request, including evidence that other sources of credit or assistance have been explored and are not available.
Pallative Care Drug Coverage
Under the Palliative Care Drug Program, individuals who are in the late stages of terminal illness will pay no charge for select over-the-counter products and prescription drugs that are listed on the Saskatchewan Formulary or approved under Exception Drug Status (EDS)
more...less...
The Ministry of Health determines the eligibility for this program. An individual may be eligible if they:
- have a terminal illness with a life expectancy measured in months;
- do not have appropriate treatment options to cure their illness or to prolong their life; and
- require care to improve or maintain their quality of life, including managing symptoms such as pain, nausea, and stress.

For more information on health benefits, including coverage, eligibility, and application process, please see the Saskatchewan Benefits document on this page.

Disability Benefits

Saskatchewan Assured Income Support for Disability Program (SAID)
Three main components:
1. The Living Income – a fixed amount of monthly income - flexible on what they can use it for.
2. The Disability Income – is designed to help with costs related to the impact of disability.
3. The Exceptional Need Income – helps individuals with a number of special circumstances. For example, additional income is available for clothing recommended by a health professional, special food items, food and grooming costs associated with service animals, and home care.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- Are a Saskatchewan resident, 18 years of age or older;
- Lack financial resources to provide for your basic needs; and
- Have a significant and enduring disability that is of a permanent nature, substantially impacts daily living activities, and which result in a person requiring assistance in the form of an assistive device, assistance of another person, a service animal, or other accommodation.
Cognitive Disability Strategy Support (CDS)
For individuals with cognitive disabilities who have significant behavioural and developmental challenges.
- Cognitive Disability Consultants – people who are available to support families with the development of appropriate behavioural support plans; and
- Cognitive Disability Benefit – an income-tested financial benefit that individuals and/or families can access to address an identified unmet need. Benefit levels are determined based on financial need and assessed level of disability impact.
more...less...
Eligible individuals must have a cognitive disability and an unmet need related to the cognitive disability that can be addressed by an evidence-based intervention and cannot be supported by another system.
Adapt a Home for a Person with a Disability
Eligible homeowners and rental property owners may receive a forgivable loan of up to $23,000 to make a home accessible for a person with a housing-related disability.
more...less...
Homeowners:
- own and occupy the property as their primary residence;
- have a household member with a housing-related disability; and
- have annual household income and asset levels at or below the limits established by Saskatchewan Housing Corporation.
Rental property owners:
- rent the modified units to low-income households that include a person with a housing-related disability;
- maintain affordable rents based on Saskatchewan Housing Corporation's rent schedule for the term of the loan; and
- have tenants with an annual household income at or below the limits established by Saskatchewan Housing Corporation.
Employability Assistance for Persons with Disabilities
This program provides funding to assist individuals in preparing for, finding, and maintaining a job. Support includes training, skills assessments, job coaching, and costs for a variety of education and training programs.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- Funding must support a resident of Saskatchewan 16 and over who, because of a disability, will require extraordinary supports to prepare for, obtain or maintain employment.
- Funding supports are for disability-related costs only.
- Funding may be used to conduct an assessment to determine the impact of disability and the supports required for successful employment.
- Funding is contingent upon confirmation of disability and a description of the supports needed in an individual Career Action Plan.
- The action plan must focus on employment with attention to disability-related costs and must encourage the use of mainstream programs wherever possible.
Saskatchewan Aid to Independent Living
Saskatchewan Aids to Independent Living (SAIL) provides assistance to people with physical disabilities to live a more active and independent lifestyle. It also helps people in the management of certain chronic health conditions.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- Be a resident of Saskatchewan (check your eligibility for health benefits in Saskatchewan);
- Possess a valid Saskatchewan Health Services Number;
- Be referred for service by an authorized health care professional;
- Use a service in Saskatchewan, unless pre-authorized by Saskatchewan Health; and
- Not receive benefits from other government agencies such as Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI), Worker's Compensation Board, Health Canada (Non-Insured Health Benefits Program), or Department of Veterans Affairs
Respite for Families Caring for a Child with Intellectual Disabilities
Respite gives parents and guardians a temporary or short-term break from the daily responsibilities of caring for a child who has an intellectual disability. This can help improve the caregiver’s physical, emotional, and spiritual health and well-being.
Community Living Service Delivery (CLSD) provides a respite benefit for eligible families caring for a child with an intellectual disability.
more...less...
Eligibility:
parents or guardians must:
- be residents of Saskatchewan;
- have a child living in their family home who is under age 18, meets the eligibility requirements of Community Living Service Delivery, and has been accepted for services provided by the branch; and
- meet financial eligibility criteria.

Families must agree to:
- an annual income test;
- report any change in circumstances;
- use the benefit for respite care;
- not pay themselves as parents or guardians, or use the benefit for employment-related child care expenses; and
- take part in an annual review with the assigned Community Living Service Delivery worker.

For more detailed information on these disability benefits, including coverage, eligibility and application process, please see the Saskatchewan Benefits document on this page.

Housing Assistance

Saskatchewan Housing Benefit
The Saskatchewan Housing Benefit is a monthly benefit that helps eligible Saskatchewan renters with their shelter costs (rent and utilities). The Saskatchewan Housing Benefit is co-funded by the Government of Canada and the Government of Saskatchewan under the National Housing Strategy
more...less...
Eligibility:
- Pay more than 40 per cent of your annual before-tax household income on shelter costs (rent and utilities)
- Have household assets less than $100,000
- Have an annual before-tax household income at or below:
o Single and couples $43,100
o Single or couple with one dependant $52,900
o Single or couple with two or more dependants $63,800
Note: You are NOT eligible for the benefit if you receive income or housing support from a Government of Saskatchewan income assistance or training program, are sponsored newcomers to Canada or are a full-time post-secondary student.
Rental Housing for People with Low Incomes
The Social Housing Program:
- provides housing to those who do not have the resources to obtain adequate, suitable and affordable shelter;
- sets rent at 30 per cent of the household's income (subject to the minimum and maximum rents);
- provides housing that may be more affordable and suitable than what is available in the community for those with accessibility needs; and
- is available in over 300 communities in Saskatchewan.
more...less...
Eligibility
- are legally allowed to be in Canada
- have gross income and assets below the program limits.
- Individuals living in social housing must be able to live independently. This independence may include support from family, the community, or other agencies.
- Priority is given to seniors (55+), families with children or dependants, and individuals with disabilities who are in greatest housing need.
Rental Housing in Rural and Northern Communities
The Affordable Housing Program offers rental housing to individuals and families in select rural and northern communities.
The Affordable Housing Program provides:
- rental housing options in small communities; and
- rental housing that might be more suitable than what is available in the community for those with accessibility needs.
more...less...
Eligibility
- are legally allowed to be in Canada; and
- are not temporary visitors to Canada or foreign students.
- Individuals in the Affordable Housing Program must be able to live independently. This independence may include support from family, the community, or other agencies.
- Tenants are required to provide a security deposit.
Housing and Support for People with Intellectual Disabilities
Housing and support programs for people with intellectual disabilities.
- Community Living Service Delivery (CLSD) is a branch of the Ministry of Social Services that works with people with intellectual disabilities and helps them access a variety of community-based services.
- Self-Directed Funding (SDF) is a funding option. Funding is provided directly to adults with intellectual disabilities so they can have increased choice and control over the supports and services that best suit their needs.
- A person can access SDF for housing supports, day programming, or both. The individual manages their own funding with the support of the representative(s) of their choice. With help from these supporters, individuals receiving SDF will identify their needs and develop a person-centred plan that describes how their needs can be met in the community.
more...less...
See the website for details on eligibility requirements.

For more detailed information on housing benefits and assistance, including coverage, eligibility requirements and guidance on the application process, please see the Saskatchewan Benefits document on this page.

Seniors Benefits

Seniors' Drug Plan
Eligible seniors 65 years and older pay $25 for prescription drugs listed on the Saskatchewan Formulary or approved under Exception Drug Status.
more...less...
Your eligibility is determined by age and the income reported on your income tax return filed with the Canada Revenue Agency. You must:
- Be a Saskatchewan resident 65 years of age or older with a valid Saskatchewan Health card.
- Be eligible for the provincial age credit, which is based on the annual net income you reported on Line 23600 of your income tax form in the previous year. Your net income must be $69,741 or less on your 2021 income tax to be eligible for the year 2023.
- Seniors who are covered under federal government programs, such as the federal Non-Insured Health Benefits Program or Veterans Affairs are not eligible for the Seniors' Drug Plan.
Personal Care Home Benefit
The Personal Care Home Benefit (PCHB) provides seniors with monthly financial assistance to help them with the cost of living in a licensed personal care home. Depends on income and martial status.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- are 65 years of age or older;
- are a resident of Saskatchewan;
- live in a Saskatchewan licensed personal care home;
- receive an Old Age Security pension; and
- have a monthly income below specified levels.
Rental Housing for Seniors
The Seniors Housing Program provides:
- rental housing options in all communities;
- a fixed rental amount set by Saskatchewan Housing Corporation; and
- housing that might be more suitable than what is available in the community for people with accessibility needs
more...less...
Eligibility
- are 55 years of age or older;
- are legally allowed to be in Canada; and
- can live independently with or without supports from family, the community, or government agencies.
Seniors' Income Plan
The Seniors Income Plan (SIP) provides senior citizens with the financial assistance required to meet their basic needs.
more...less...
You are eligible to receive the Seniors Income Plan benefits if:
- you are 65 years of age or older;
- you are a permanent resident of Saskatchewan;
- you receive full or partial OAS pension and GIS; and
- you have annual income below a specified level.

For more detailed information on benefits for seniors, including coverage, eligibility, and application process, please see the Saskatchewan Benefits document on this page.

Saskatchewan Benefits

Saskatchewan Benefits
This document provides in-depth information, including links and additional coverage details, for understanding and accessing the social assistance resources from the Saskatchewan provincial government that are listed on this page.
Last updated June 2022