LibGuides: Social Assistance Resources: Manitoba

Employment and Income Assistance

There are three categories of Employment and Income Assistance (EIA)
- EIA for General Assistance
- EIA for Single Parents
- EIA for Persons with Disabilities

EIA provides benefits (money) to help you with the costs of things like:
- food, clothing, personal and household needs
- basic dental, optical and prescription drugs
- health-related supplies or equipment not provided by other programs. Requests for these items are reviewed by the Disability and Health Supports Unit
- For people who are able to work, EIA will help them go back to work by providing supports to employment. Learn more about EIA, and about service locations in Winnipeg and in Rural and North regions
- Rent Assist provides EIA recipients with benefits to help with their shelter and utility costs

To be eligible, you must live in Manitoba and be in financial need. You may be eligible for assistance if the total cost of you or your family's monthly basic needs and housing costs are more than your total financial resources.

For details on the specific services that are covered under EIA, including addictions treatment, dental care and eye services, medical equipment, child care, transportation services and more, please see the Manitoba Benefits document on this page.

Child Benefits

Early Learning and Child Care Program (ELCC)
The Early Learning and Child Care (ELCC) Program provides financial support to eligible families to help with the cost of child care for children from 12 weeks to 12 years attending licensed early learning and child care centres or homes.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- depends on various factors including income;
- the number and age of your children;
- the number of days required for childcare;
- and the reason childcare is needed.
Manitoba Child Benefit
The Manitoba Child Benefit provides monthly benefits to lower income Manitobans with dependent children in their care. Up to $35.00 per month, per child.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- Resident of Manitoba
- Have dependent children under the age of 18 who are in your care
- In receipt of Canada Child Benefits for dependent children*
- Family income is below a specific level and is based on the previous year’s income
- CANNOT be in receipt of Employment and Income Assistance unless you are ONLY receiving the health benefits portion of EIA.
- The Manitoba Child Benefit is paid through direct deposit.
Children's Opti-Care Program
The Children's Opti-Care Program helps families, who receive the Manitoba Child Benefit (MCB), pay some of the cost of their children's glasses. Benefit is about $84 per child, per year. If your child has special vision needs, the benefits may be more.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- be a resident of Manitoba
- have children under the age of 18 who live with you
- get the Manitoba Child Benefit for the child who needs the glasses

You may not get benefits through this program if:
- you have coverage for glasses under any other health insurance program (ex: Rewarding Work Health Plan, First Nations Insured Health Benefits, Manitoba Blue Cross)
- you make a claim more than 14 months after the glasses were paid for

For more in-depth information on these benefits, as well as details regarding eligibility, application, and coverage, please see the Manitoba Benefits document on this page.

Housing Benefits

Social Housing Rental Program (SHRP)
The Social Housing Rental Program (SHRP) is the primary and largest program delivered by Manitoba Housing. The program provides low-income Manitobans in the greatest need with subsidized housing. Manitoba Housing provides a range of quality housing such as apartments, townhouses, duplexes and houses for individuals, families and seniors.
more...less...
To be eligible for the rental housing programs applicants must:
- complete a program application
- have a total adjusted household income at or below the rental Program Income Limits (PILs)
- be in core housing need (SHRP)
- be a Canadian Citizen, permanent resident of Canada or refugee claimant
- provide a rental history
- pay outstanding debt owed to the program or sign an approved payment plan
Rent Assist
Rent Assist is a financial benefit for people who receive Employment and Income Assistance (EIA) and have housing costs to cover. It is also available to other low-income private renters.
more...less...
Eligibility:
RECEIVING EIA: will be included when you apply
Amount based on:
- rental costs
- mortgage payments, taxes and other fees for those who own their own home
- the number of people in the family
- if the family lives in Manitoba Housing, has other subsidized housing benefits or is paying rent in unsubsidized housing
- whether utility costs (ex: heat, electricity, water) are included in the rent

NOT RECEIVING EIA:
- pay rent or room and board for unsubsidized housing
- have a net annual income of less than $23,040 for a single person, or $25,280 for a single person 55 years of age or older, or a person who qualifies for the Disability Tax Credit or receive Canada Pension Plan Disability benefits, $28,400 for two people, $35,840 for three or four people and $45,320 for five or more people
- have dependent children in your home and have a net annual income of less than $35,840 for two to four people, or $45,320 for five or more people
- are a Canadian citizen, or a permanent resident of Canada.

Do not qualify if:
- they rent their home from Manitoba Housing
- they, or the unit they live in, gets any other kind of housing benefit or subsidy
- they live on a First Nations reserve
- they live in a nursing home, hospital or residential care facility
- they live in student housing

For more information on housing benefits, including details on eligibility and application process, please see the Manitoba Benefits document on this page.

Senior Benefits

55 Plus Program
The 55 PLUS Program, a Manitoba Income Supplement, provides quarterly benefits to lower-income Manitobans who are 55 years of age and over, and whose incomes are within certain levels. Eligibility is based on income reported in your tax return from the previous year.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- Applicants may be eligible if they are 55 years of age or older
- live in Manitoba
- have a valid Manitoba Health registration number and an income within the allowable ranges. Your net income from the previous tax year is used to determine if you are eligible.
- Persons who receive Employment and Income Assistance are NOT eligible for 55 PLUS benefits. However, those who receive only the health care benefits portion of income assistance may be eligible.
School Tax Assistance for Tenants 55 Plus (STAT 55+)
Rebates available for income-tested tenants over the age of 55 to offset the school tax portion of rent costs.
more...less...
To be eligible for School Tax Assistance for Tenants 55 Plus, applicants must:
- be at least 55 years of age;
- be a renter in Manitoba;
- have a combined net income of less than $23,800;
- have claimed rent on the MB479 (Education Property Tax Credit) on the previous year's income tax return; and
- not live in non-profit housing for the elderly or in projects licensed under The Elderly and Infirm Persons' Housing Act because rent in these housing units does not include school tax costs.

For more information on these benefits, including coverage and application process, please see the Manitoba Benefits document on this page.

Manitoba Social Benefits

Manitoba Benefits
This document provides in-depth information, including links and additional coverage details, for understanding and accessing the social assistance resources from the Manitoba provincial government that are listed on this page.
Last updated June 2022