LibGuides: Social Assistance Resources: Yukon

Income and Social Assistance

Yukon Social Assistance
Yukon Social Assistance provides financial help to people who do not have enough money to live on. It helps cover the costs of basic needs. This program is a last resort after you've explored all other possible sources of income. Please note, if you receive social assistance you cannot leave the territory. The only exception is for medical travel that's approved by the Medical Travel Program.
more...less...
Eligibility:
You may be eligible to apply if you do not have enough money to meet your basic needs, and:
- you're between the ages of 19 and 64;
- your partner or spouse does not make enough money to meet your basic needs;
- you're a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada; and
- you do not have a First Nation Status Number, and/or the last working person in your relationship does not have a First Nation Status Number.
Yukon Supplemetary Allowance
The Yukon Supplementary Allowance is $250 per month. You may be eligible if you receive, or are eligible for, social assistance.
more...less...
Eligibility:
You must be:
- a Yukon resident;
- 19 years or older; and
- either assessed as unemployed because of severe or long-term disability; or
- receiving Old Age Security, or reached an age that you can receive it.
If you are eligible, you can earn up to $3,900 per year that isn't calculated as part of your annual income.
Food Literacy Grant
The Food Literacy Grant builds on existing community-driven food literacy initiatives. It also includes new and innovative food programs. Food literacy grants help increase community capacity.
These programs help to:
- recognize strengths;
- develop new skills;
- build community;
- connect people: and
- improve food knowledge.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- Registered organizations in good standing under the Societies Act
- Yukon-based not-for-profit corporations incorporated under the federal Not-for-Profit Corporations Act
- Charitable organizations
- Only Canadian citizens or permanent residents who've lived in Yukon for 3 months
- Schools and early learning programs
- Municipal and First Nations governments
Working UP Program
The Working UP program can help you:
- take the next steps toward your work or learning goals;
- improve literacy and essential skills;
- increase your workplace skills and experience, including apprenticeship;
- get workplace or learning support; and
- explore options for self-employment.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- 16 years or older;
- out of the public school system; and
- legally entitled to work in Canada and expect to remain so.
Victims of Crime Emergency Fund
Through the Victims of Crime Emergency Fund you can get help to replace, repair or buy items that will impact your immediate safety. This is a fund of last resort. It's designed for victims who haven’t been able to get support from other sources. It must be for emergency or immediate needs. There is no compensation or benefits fund for victims of crime in the Yukon.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- You, your child or a dependent who were a victim of a crime.
- The crime happened in the Yukon in the last 60 days.
- You have an emergency or immediate expense resulting from the crime.
- You have an expense that affects your safety.
- You have no other resources to cover that expense (such as social assistance, your First Nation, insurance or a community group).
- You do not have to report the crime to the police to apply.
- Other situations are considered at the discretion of Victim Services.

For more information on these social supports, including coverage, eligibility and application process, please see the Yukon Benefits document on this page.

Child Care Benefits

Children's Drug and Optical Program
The Children's Drug and Optical Program helps cover costs of prescription drugs and eye care for children aged 18 and under. This program is for low-income families.
Child Care Subsidy
The Child Care Subsidy assists families who may not be able to afford to pay for their child to attend a licensed child care centre, family day home or school-aged program. The amount of subsidy is based on an income test on the combined net income of your family. It takes into account family size, income and the community in which you live.
more...less...
You can apply for the subsidy if one or more of the following situations apply:
- You have a full- or part-time job;
- You are looking for a job;
- You are attending school or a training program full- or part-time;
- You are receiving medical treatment;
- You or your child have a special need based on a professional assessment;
- You need to meet a short-term family crisis; or
- You are a grandparent, and are the primary care provider of your grandchild. (Note: You do not need to have legal custody, but rather be the primary adult providing care for the grandchild.)

For more details on these benefits, including coverage information, eligibility and application process, please see the Yukon Benefits document on this page.

Disability Benefits

Adult Community Services for People with Disabilities
Adult Community Services offers a range of social services to help people with disabilities. Our focus on enjoying a basic standard of living with maximum independence and dignity. These programs include care at home, recreation supports, victim services, learning assistance, and more.

Health Care Benefits

Respite Care
Respite care is temporary, short-term care of children with disabilities. Its purpose is to provide rest and relief to you, the parent.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- you're a Yukon resident;
- your child is under 19 years of age;
- your child was diagnosed with a disability or identified as possibly having a disability by a qualified health care professional; and
- you've accessed other resources, such as private insurance or employee benefits, before contacting Children’s Disability Services.
Chronic Disease or Disability
If you have a chronic disease or a disability, you may be able to get help with some of your costs. You may be able to get help with paying for:
- prescription drugs;
- medical surgical supplies;
- medical equipment;
- food supplements; and
- prostheses.
You can get help with these costs if:
- these are things that help you manage your chronic disease or disability; and
- they're recommended by your health practitioner.

For more information on these health care benefits, including information on coverage, eligibility and application process, please see the Yukon Benefits document on this page.

Housing Benefits

Transitional Housing
Find a women's shelter at the various resources linked here.
Youth Emergency Shelter
Skookum Jim Friendship Centre provides a safe bed for youth when needed, and to assist them in reconnecting with family, friends and/or the community.
more...less...
Youth age 17 to 23 years old. Youth under the age of 17 are referred to the Government of Yukon on call Social Worker. Parents/Caregivers of these youth are also contacted.
Yukon Housing Corporation
The Yukon Housing Corporation delivers community housing and programs that address the housing needs of Yukon residents. They work collaboratively to provide responsive and innovative solutions to diverse housing needs that contribute to healthy, sustainable, inclusive Yukon communities.
Rent Subsidy Program
People who have a low- to moderate-income can apply to get help with their rent from the Canada-Yukon Housing Benefit program.
more...less...
To be eligible for the Canada-Yukon Housing Benefit you must:
- be a Canadian citizen or have permanent resident or refugee status;
- be a Yukon resident for at least 3 months;
- be renting a house in the Yukon and not receiving any other housing benefit or subsidy;
- have an annual household income (combined income of all adults 19 or older who are living in the home) under the Affordable Household Income Limits for your eligible unit size (based on the National Occupancy Standards);
- have less than $100,000 in assets;
- file an annual Canadian Income Tax Return; and
- have income from a qualifying source such as:
- employment (Employment Insurance; short-term workers)
- Compensation (short-term disability; alimony payments;Training Allowance; Old Age Security; Guaranteed Income Supplement) or
- Pension income.
Reduced Rent
As a social housing tenant in Yukon Housing Corporation housing, you can apply to have your rent reduced for up to 3 months.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- You must be a Yukon Housing Corporation social housing tenant.
- Your income must have been reduced by 20% or more.
Home Repair Program
The Home Repair Program provides funding for Yukon homeowners to repair or upgrade their principal residence.
The Home Repair Program includes 3 streams of funding:
- a grant for emergency repair for your home:
- a grant to improve the accessibility of your home; and
- a loan to repair your home.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- You're a Yukon resident.
- You own your home and it's your primary residence. This includes home ownership on First Nations land.
- Your household income is below the affordable housing income limit.
- Your home needs repairs or upgrades to improve energy efficiency, overcrowding, accessibility or health and safety.
You can only receive 1 grant per household a year.

For more information on these housing benefits, including details on coverage, eligibility, and application process, please see the Yukon Benefits document on this page.

Seniors Benefits

Yukon Seniors' Income Supplement
As a low-income senior, you can apply for the Yukon Seniors Income Supplement. This increases your monthly income to $273.05.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- a Yukon resident;
- 65 years of age or older;
- receiving Old Age Security (OAS);
- receiving the Guaranteed Income Supplement (GIS);
- receiving the Spouse's Allowance or the Survivor's Allowance; and
- receiving the GIS in Yukon.
Pioneer Utility Grant (PUG)
The Pioneer Utility Grant (PUG) assists Yukon seniors with the cost of heating their homes regardless of whether they own or rent. Seniors who are living in social housing or in getting a rental subsidy are not eligible for the grant. Heating can be oil, electricity, wood, propane or wood pellets.Yukoners must apply every year.
more...less...
Eligibility:
- Yukon seniors who are 65 or older in the year of the grant.
- A Canadian citizen or permanent resident who has lived in Yukon for a minimum of 12 months.
- Yukoners who live in the Yukon a minimum of 183 days every year. 3 months of the 183 days must be during the winter months defined as January, February, March, October, November and December.
Extended Health Care Benefits for Seniors
Yukon seniors can apply for extended health care and Pharmacare to help pay for medical, dental and vision needs, including the cost of
- prescription drugs;
- dental care;
- eye care; and
- medical-surgical supplies and equipment.
more...less...
Eligibility:
You must be:
- registered with the Yukon Health Care Insurance Plan (YHCIP); and |
- a Yukon resident age 65 or over.
You're also eligible if you're:
- a Yukon resident registered with YHCIP;
- aged between 60 and 64; and married to a Yukon resident who is 65 years of age or older.

For more information on these seniors' benefits, including details on coverage, eligibility and application process, please see the Yukon Benefits document on this page.

Yukon Benefits

Yukon Benefits
This document provides in-depth information, including links and additional coverage details, for understanding and accessing the social assistance resources available for residents of the Yukon that are listed on this page.
Last updated June 2022