Contains a wide range of streaming videos, spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, dance, and more.
The Film Scripts Online Series features the authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.
American History in Video is a collection of videos documenting events in American history. The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. The collection also contains documentaries, featuring reenactments and analysis from scholars and experts.
Offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. Such themes are central to any meaningful discussion of contemporary Asian culture and society.
Contains approximately 1200 plays by 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Provides detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Coverage is from 1850 - present.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore brings together 82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors. Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before.
Black Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, black women needed to create their own identities and movements. The collection documents that effort, presenting the woman’s perspective on the diversity and development of black people generally, and in particular the works document the evolution of black feminism.
The explosion of works by women in the Caribbean that started in the second part of the twentieth century is also covered. African women came into their own as writers during the late 1950s and 1960s, following the winds of independence that swept across Africa, and Black Women Writers includes works by a wide range of authors from that period. Many of the writings have been hidden in rare and hard to find texts, obscure typewritten documents, photocopied journals, and other fugitive sources.
This collection includes approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
More than 100,000 pages of poems, drama, novels, stories, and related material—carefully located and secured from archives and rare book libraries, licensed from local publishing houses, and received from the authors themselves.
Provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. The collection provides a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with a variety of populations and mental health issues.
Dance Online: Dance in Video addresses a key need for academic dance research by providing access to performances and instruction to scholars, researchers, and students in the field of dance. With the extensive collection of performances, instructional materials, documentaries, and interviews, these collections offer a rich source of knowledge.
"150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video. The content is essential for teaching and research—not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.
This resources documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, enslaved individuals, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.
A comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 2000 hours of streaming video of classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
Ethnographic Video Online: Volume II highlights a selection of contemporary ethnographic film and documentaries, exploring global issues such as environmental degradation and climate change, refugee migration, and endangered languages.
Latin American Women Writers is a searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. There are over 900 titles included in the database, primarily in Spanish.
Latino Literature contains approximately 48 plays and 13,000 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. When complete it will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays, so representing the Chicano culture and all the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States.
Music Online combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.
This collection includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines.
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files for the first time. The result is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them.
It includes over 119,000 pages of text and images. A link to images can be found under "Tables of Contents." Browse different types of images by clicking on the links at the top of the page.
North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to more than 30,000 plays, over 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, nearly 22,000 productions and 2,500 production companies. Each year we'll be adding more than 20,000 new records to these files. The file also includes some 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.
This edition of North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. About a quarter of the plays in the collection have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the assistance of our editorial board.
This collection includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material.
Oral History Online provides indexing to more than 2,000 oral history collections in the English language. The content is from around the around. It is organized thematically but can also be searched by keywords. Some full-text is available along with links to external collections and websites.
Social Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. It features works by such major theorists as Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Ulrich Beck, Howard Becker, Nancy Chodorow, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Erving Goffman, Robert Merton, and Talcott Parsons. Some books and articles are in the original language of publication, ie. German, French.
Social Theory helps researchers explore the development of social thought and behaviour over the centuries. The collection includes digitized original works (i.e. in French, German, Italian, etc.), as well accompanying translations into English. This resource is suitable for undergraduate and graduate students, as well as advanced researchers. More information
South and Southeast Asian Literature is a searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas. Focusing on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras, the collection will also feature author interviews and manuscript materials that will shed additional light on the rich literary heritage and emerging traditions of this region.
This database brings the United States of America in the1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. The database covers subjects including arts, music, and leisure, civil rights, counter-culture, law and government, mass media, new left and emerging neo-conservative movement, student activism, Vietnam War, women's movement.
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 2,059 plays by 434 playwrights, and more than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. This collection offers a unique window into the economic, historical, social, and political psyche of Canada and the United States.
Women and Social Movements in the United States Since 1600 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history generally and at the same time make those insights accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 124 document projects and archives with more than 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,800 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Steps for Creating Permalinks to Streaming Videos in Alexander St. Press
Find the film of interest.
Click on the Share icon at the top of the screen to get the permalink for the article.
Paste this link into York’s Permalink Converter (see bottom of screen) to create a permalink that will work on or off campus.
