LibGuides: Geospatial Data: York University

York University Keele and Glendon Campus Geospatial Data

3D Massing (Building Shapes) City of Toronto
This is a geospatial 3D ESRI shape / 3D CAD format file of building shapes for City of Toronto. This includes the building on the Keele Campus and Glendon Campus.
Building outlines with heights and clutter (land use) data. Geographic Coverage: York University Keele Campus
Year of Coverage: April 2010. Producer: RMSI Ltd. For more details consult the metadata description.
Access: Available for research and educational purposes, only for the York University Community. Please request the data via our GAIA request system.
If you need a more recent version of the building footprints, we recommend using the 3D Massing file from the City of Toronto.
LiDAR Data of the City of Toronto
LiDAR data set produced by Airborne Imaging covering the City of Toronto is derived from the Airborne Imaging LiDAR Greater Toronto Area data library. The data was captured in Spring 2014/2015 and is distributed in ¼ km square tiles. The LiDAR data products available in this data set are: [1] Point Cloud LIDAR Data: LAS Format; [2] Digital Terrain Model (1 metre Grids) of Bare Earth and Full Feature: XYZ ASCII Format; [3] Hillside Images, Bare Earth and Full Feature: GeoTIFF Format; [4] 50 cm Contours, Bare Earth: Shapefile format. The data are distributed with basic metadata, detailed metadata, and reports. To order the LiDAR data consult the Index map, submit a data request via GAIA, and specify which tiles and products you need.
Open Data - City of Toronto
The official source for Toronto open data from City divisions and agencies. It provides a variety of spatial and tabular datasets pertaining to the city's population, infrastructure, and services. Topics include: Locations & Mapping, City Government, Community Services, Transportation, Development and Infrastructure, Public Safety, Health, Finance, Environment, Culture and Tourism, Business, Parks and Recreation, Permits & Licenses, Water, Garbage & Recycling.
Property Data Maps. City of Toronto. DWG Format
Description:The Property Data Maps are detailed maps of the City of Toronto that show building footprints, sidewalks, street and traffic infrastructure, spot heights etc. The data is available in DWG format and can be read in a GIS or a drawing program such as Autocad. Our collection covers 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010-2013, and 2015-2022.
Access: Research and Educational Purposes for members of the York University community. The years 2013, 2015, 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022 are available via the Scholars Geoportal. Do a data search for the term "toronto property data maps".
If you need Property Data plans from prior to 2013 and for 2023, please request the data via our GAIA request system; specify the title, tile numbers, format, and the year you would like. Consult the PDM Index Map to determine which tiles you need.
Publisher: City of Toronto Survey and Mapping Services.
Property Data Maps. City of Toronto. PDF Format
Description: The Property Data Maps are detailed maps of the City of Toronto that show building footprints, sidewalks, street and traffic infrastructure, spot heights etc. The data is available in PDF format. Our collection covers 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015.
Access: Research and Educational Purposes for members of the York University community. Please request the data via our GAIA request system; specify the title, tile numbers, format, and the year you would like. Consult the PDM Index Map to determine which tiles you need.
Publisher: City of Toronto Survey and Mapping Services.
York University Interactive Map
This is an interactive map of York University. It contains layers related to buildings, transportation, services, points of interest, accessibility, community safety, sustainability, tunnels and walkways. Please note, the layers are not available in geospatial data formats.

Aerial Photography, Orthoimagery, and Satellite Imagery (Digital)

Digital Formats

Below is a list of satellite imagery, aerial imagery, and orthoimagery (georeferenced imagery that can be used in a GIS) that covers Keele Campus and Glendon Campus.

Orthoimagery. City of Toronto. 2009 to 2018.
Digital/Online Format. Orthoimagery of Toronto produced by the Surveys & Mapping Services at the City of Toronto. Coverage is available for every year between 2009 to 2018. Images are available for viewing and downloading via Scholars Geoportal.
This is a licensed product and only available to members of the York University community for research and educational purposes.
Satellite Image of York University’s Keele Campus. 2016.
Georeferenced Worldview 2 Satellite image of York University Keele campus and parts of the City of Vaughan captured in 2016. Consists of two images: a multispectral (colour – 8 bands) and a panchromatic (black and white).
Greater Toronto Area Orthophotography. 2013.
Orthoimagery (20 cm) resolution of the Greater Toronto Area from 2013, produced by First Base Solutions
Satellite Image of Keele Campus and Surrounding Areas. 2012.
Georeferenced Worldview 2 Satellite image of York University Keele campus and parts of the City of Vaughan captured in 2012. Consists of two images: a multispectral (colour – 8 bands) and a panchromatic (black and white).
Satellite Image of North York and Keele Campus. 2009.
Georeferenced GeoEye Satellite image of North York and Keele Campus, captured in 2009. Consists of two images: multispectral (4 bands) and panchromatic (black and white) .
Greater Toronto Area Orthophotography. 2009/2010..
Orthoimagery (20 cm resolution) of the Greater Toronto Area.
Greater Toronto Area Orthophotography. 2007.
Orthoimagery (15 cm resolution) of the Greater Toronto area from 2007. Collected by First Base Solutions and published by Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.
Greater Toronto Area Orthoimagery. 2005.
Orthoimagery (20 cm) resolution of the Greater Toronto Area from 2005, collected by First Base Solutions and distributed by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.
Greater Toronto Area Orthophotography. 2002.
Orthoimagery (20 cm resolution) of Toronto captured in 2002, and published by the Ministry of Natural Resources.
Greater Toronto Orthophotography. 1995.
Orthoimagery (100 cm resolution) captured in the autumn of 1995, produced by Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.