Geospatial Data: Forestry, Land Cover, and Vegetation

High resolution land cover dataset for Toronto with eight land cover classes: (1) tree canopy, (2) grass/shrub, (3) bare earth, (4) water, (5) buildings, (6) roads, (7) other paved surfaces and (8) agriculture. This dataset was developed in 2018 as part of an Urban Tree Canopy (UTC) Assessment for Toronto

This is a 30 m land cover map of Canada in GeoTIFF format for 2020, derived from Landsat Imagery. This dataset was produced by Canada Centre for Remote Sensing (CCRS). Access to the 2015 and 2010 versions of the dataset can also be accessed from this resource.

The Scholars Geoportal has contains geospatial data about forestry, woodlands, and vegetation in Ontario. To view and download these datasets, go to Scholars Geoportal and browse by the subject, "Biological and Ecological".

The Scholars Geoportal has contains geospatial data about land cover in Ontario. To view and download these datasets, go to Scholars Geoportal and browse by the subject, "Landuse and Planning".

SOLRIS is based on Ministry of Natural Resources and Forest's Ecological Land Classification (ELC) for southern Ontario (Lee et al, 1998). It is a land use inventory that supports a number of key Provincial initiatives including Source Water Protection, Natural Spaces, Biodiversity Conservation and State of Resources Reporting.The data covers the date ranges from 1999-2002 and 2009-2011. The data is available in TIFF format and in geodatabase format. To access the data, click on the title above. Scroll to the section on the web page labelled "Transfer Options".

This dataset provides an inventory of City owned-trees on the road allowance for inspection and maintenance.

Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA) data represents various natural features for the TRCA jurisdiction, which encompasses the Etobicoke, Miimico, Humber, Don, Highland, Rouge, Petticoat, Duffins and Carruthers river watersheds, and the Lake Ontario shoreline from Mississauga to Ajax. Data sets include natural cover, flora, fauna, contours, vegetation and Ecological Land Classification (ELC), watershed, water bodies, and more.

Annual crop inventory in a digital map format using satellite imagery from across Canada. Data is available as web mapping services, interactive map layers, and in the original TIFF format. The data classification includes categories related to land cover (such as wetland, grassland, urban etc.) and crops (pasture, corn, lentils, wheat etc.).

The harmonized land cover (HLC) map is produced from Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) and Canadian Forest Service (CFS) data. The HLC product is exhaustive of all area from the northern edge of Canada’s forested ecosystems to the southern border. This dataset is 30 metre resolution and available in GeoTIFF format and as a web mapping service.

Earth Explorer is a geospatial data portal that provides access to following landcover/vegetation data products: Global Land Survey, Global Landcover, Global Forest Observation, ASTER, MODIS, and AVHRR

Global Forest Watch provides access to information about development activities in Canada's forests and their environmental impact. Global Forest Watch Interactive Map.

This is a 30 m land cover map of Canada in GeoTIFF format for 2020, derived from Landsat Imagery. This dataset was produced by Canada Centre for Remote Sensing (CCRS). Access to the 2015 and 2010 versions of the dataset can also be accessed from this resource.

This dataset of North American land cover provides a harmonized view of the physical cover of Earth’s surface across the continent at a spatial resolution of 30 meters, based on Landsat satellite imagery for Canada, Mexico, and the United States. You can view the land cover map and download the data from this website.

EarthStat provides GIS data on the global food system to help others make science-based decisions.

Earth Explorer is a geospatial data portal that provides access to following landcover/vegetation data products: Global Land Survey, Global Landcover, Global Forest Observation, ASTER, MODIS, and AVHRR

Results from time-series analysis of Landsat images in characterizing global forest extent and change from 2000 though 2016.

This website provides access to vegetation cover data. It includes MODIS data [Leaf Area Index, Vegetation Continuous Fields (VCF), Vegetative Cover Conversion (VCC), Vegetation Index (NDVI)] and AVHRR data (Land Cover Classification and Leaf Area Index).

This is a directory of land cover, forestry, vegetation, and biomass geospatial data that covers the entire earth surface, or specific regions in the world.

Downloadable files of global surface water datasets 1984-2015 - occurrence, change, seasonality, recurrence, transitions and maximum extent.

UN Biodiversity Lab is a geospatial data viewer that allows the user to view mapped data at the global scale related to biodiversity, habitats, land cover, and climate data. It is possible to download the many of the datasets.