LibGuides: Geospatial Data: Topographic Data

What are Topographic Maps and Topographic Data?

A topographic map is a detailed representation of cultural and physical features on the ground. They show features such as roads, buildings, urban development, water, elevation, vegetation, and place names. For information on how to access the print versions of topographic maps visit the Topographic Maps page on the Map and Atlases Guide.

Topographic data provides detail on terrain, elevation and land features. Topographic data can be used to create study area maps and land based maps. This webpage, provides information on how to access and download vector topographic data and scanned topographic maps for use in Geographic Information Systems software and applications.

National Topographic System Data & Maps

The Government of Canada (NRCan) has been producing topographic maps of Canada's landmass for more than 80 years, at a variety of scales. Topographic maps produced by NRCan conform to the National Topographic System (NTS) of Canada. Below is a list of resources and portals you can use to view and download vector data and georeferenced topographic maps.

Geospatial Data Extraction Tool
The Geospatial Data Extraction tool is used to extract national topographic system data from the CanVec series. The CanVec series contains more than 60 topographic features organized into 8 main themes (transportation features, administrative features, hydrographic features, land features, man made features, elevation features, resources management features, and toponymic features).
CanVec
CanVec is the most current (up-to-date) topographic map data product produced by Natural Resources Canada. It contains more than 60 topographic features classes organized into 8 themes: Transport Features, Administrative Features, Hydro Features, Land Features, Human made Features, Elevation Features, Resource Management Features and Toponymic Features. Data are available at the scales of 1:50,000, 1:250,000, 1:1 million, 1:5 million, and 1:25 million. Data available in shapefile (SHP) , and FGDB formats.
Digital Topographic Raster Maps, 1944-2012
This resource contains georeferenced digital topographic raster maps that are created from existing print National Topographic Map System map products published between 1944 and 2012 at the scales of 1:25,000, 1:50,000 and 1:250,000 scales. Georeferenced maps can be used as a base layer in a Geographic Information System software and applications. Two different map products are available from this resource, CanMatrix and CanTopo. It is recommended to use the Canadian Geographic Names Database or the topographic map index KML Format to determine the NTS (National Topographic System) number that correspond to your area of interest.
Toporama
Toporama can be used to view the most recent national topographic system data (CanVec). It offers continuous topographic map data coverage for all of Canada available from national to regional and local topographic scales. The dynamic map viewer offers features for searching place names, zooming and panning, measuring distances, getting coordinates, viewing NTS (National Topographic System) index grids, and much more.
National Topographic Database (NTDB)
The National Topographic Data Base (NTDB) is a legacy vector topographic data product. The NTDB data were derived from the legacy CanMatrix topographic map series. The NTDB data are available at the scale of 1:50,000 and 1:250,000, and cover the entire Canadian landmass. The NTDB includes features such as watercourses, urban areas, railways, roads, vegetation, and relief. It you need the most recent topographic map data, use the CanVec product. It is recommended to use the Canadian Geographic Names Database or the topographic map index KML Format to determine the NTS (National Topographic System) number that correspond to your area of interest.

Ontario Base Maps - Topographic Maps and Data

Ontario Base Maps (OBM) are a series of maps and geospatial data created and updated by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources between 1977 and 2000. The data and maps cover most of Ontario and contain many features normally found on topographic maps such as relief, hydrography, vegetation and roads. Eastern and Southern Ontario is covered at a scale of 1:10,000 and Northern Ontario is covered at a scale of 1:20,000.

Ontario Base Map data (via Scholars Geoportal)
The Ontario Base Map data are available for download in shapefile format via Scholars Geoportal. This data set is organized and download via an index identifying Ontario Base Map (OBM) map tiles. The digital vector data in shapefile format and the PDF version of the map can be downloaded for each tile.
Make a Topographic Map - Government of Ontario
Create and print a custom map of any area of Ontario. Shows topographic information such as roads, trails, lakes, rivers, wooded areas, wetlands, and provincial parks.

Toronto Maps

The City of Toronto base mapping of the city at the scale of 1:500. This includes topographic data layers, Property Data Map series, and additional base layer data.

Open Data - City of Toronto - Topographic Mapping
Topographic data produced by the city of Toronto including mapping includes features that are visible on the ground which includes, sidewalks, poles, street trees, driveways and parking lots, roads, treed areas, and impermeable surfaces.
Property Data Maps. City of Toronto. DWG Format
Description:The Property Data Maps are detailed maps of the City of Toronto that show building footprints, sidewalks, street and traffic infrastructure, spot heights etc. The data is available in DWG format and can be read in a GIS or a drawing program such as Autocad. Our collection covers 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010-2013, and 2015-2022.
Access: Research and Educational Purposes for members of the York University community. The years 2013, 2015, 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022 are available via the Scholars Geoportal. Do a data search for the term "toronto property data maps".
If you need Property Data plans from prior to 2013 and for 2023, please request the data via our GAIA request system; specify the title, tile numbers, format, and the year you would like. Consult the PDM Index Map to determine which tiles you need.
Publisher: City of Toronto Survey and Mapping Services.
Property Data Maps. City of Toronto. PDF Format
Description: The Property Data Maps are detailed maps of the City of Toronto that show building footprints, sidewalks, street and traffic infrastructure, spot heights etc. The data is available in PDF format. Our collection covers 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015.
Access: Research and Educational Purposes for members of the York University community. Please request the data via our GAIA request system; specify the title, tile numbers, format, and the year you would like. Consult the PDM Index Map to determine which tiles you need.
Publisher: City of Toronto Survey and Mapping Services.

U.S. Topographic Maps

USGS Topographic Maps

Quick Links

Here are a few quick links to commonly-used sources of geospatial data (note that some may require a York login to access).

Scholars Geoportal The Scholars Geoportal provides access to large scale geospatial data sets, as well as sophisticated search, discovery and analysis tools to make the data readily available to Ontario University researchers. Resources include data licensed by Ontario academic libraries, such as land-based vector data (water, cultural features, etc.), census geography, and orthophotography.
Open Data Search: Geospatial Data This links to the open data search portal produced by the Government of Canada. You can use this portal to search for geospatial data.
SimplyAnalytics Create and download thematic maps, tables, reports and geospatial data using Canadian and American demographic, business, and marketing variables. It is only available to members of the York University community.Canadian data sources include: Adjusted Census Data, Demographic Estimates, Household Spending, PRIZM, and COVID-19 Outbreak data. American data sources include: U.S. Census Bureau Data, Community Demographic Estimates, Consumer Expenditure Estimates, Uniform Crime Reporting and NOAA Climate Divisional Database.
Lunaris (FRDR) Use Lunaris to find open geospatial datasets produced by academic researchers in Canada, as well as select government agencies.
ArcGIS and ESRI Products @ YorkU

Questions about Geospatial Data

Are you an student or faculty with a general question about acquiring geospatial data and GIS software? Contact us at gislib@yorku.ca

Consultation Appointments

Students and faculty requiring specialized assistance with finding maps, geospatial data and/or integrating GIS into their research projects can schedule a consultation with a librarian.