Archival Research Tutorial: Archives in other countries

A major national gateway to archive collections held in UK universities and colleges, forming part of the National Archives Network. The Archives Hub provides a gateway to thousands of the UK’s richest archives. Representing over 180 institutions across the country, the Archives Hub is an effective way to discover unique and often little-known sources to support your research.

The 'Digitised Manuscripts' section of The British Library website provides access to fully digitized manuscripts held at the Library and their descriptions.

According to their mandate:
"The National Archives and Records Administration serves American democracy by safeguarding and preserving the records of our Government, ensuring that the people can discover, use, and learn from this documentary heritage. We ensure continuing access to the essential documentation of the rights of American citizens and the actions of their government. We support democracy, promote civic education, and facilitate historical understanding of our national experienc

The Library of Congress hold numerous special collections and archival papers relating to various topics relevant to the history of the United States of America, including presidential papers, organizational records and the personal papers of significant American writers, reformers, politicians and public figures.

The ARCHON Directory includes contact details for record repositories in the United Kingdom and also for institutions elsewhere in the world which have substantial collections of manuscripts related to the history of the United Kingdom

As the government's national archive for England, Wales and the United Kingdom, this institution holds over 1,000 years of the nation's records, including substantial holdings related to former colonies in Africa, the Subcontinent, the Caribbean, North America and Australasia.

The largest division of Frances' national archives made up of three sites (in Paris, Fontainebleau and Pierrefitte-sur-Seine) and consisting of governmental records and records of historic and cultural significance to France.

The National Overseas Archives is a division of France's National Archives responsible for records relating to the administration of French colonies and Algeria, including records transferred during the decolonization period of 1954-1962.

The Archives nationales du monde du travail (ANMT) or "Working World Archives" preserves and provides access to archives of French businesses, trades unions, associations and societies, and architects.

The national library of France is the legal deposit for material published in France and also has extensive archival holdings relating to the cultural history of the country.

Gallica propose un accès à 70 000 ouvrages numérisés, à plus de 80 000 images et à plusieurs dizaines d'heures de ressources sonores. Cet ensemble constitue l'une des plus importantes bibliothèques numériques accessibles gratuitement sur l'Internet

Access to the EU's historical archives is subject to the 30-year rule, which means that the files are opened to the public 30 years after their date of production.

The United Nations Archives and Records Management Section (ARMS) ensures that the records documenting the history of the United Nations are preserved and accessible to all. This website brings together into a single location information about the United Nations archives collections and services with resources and tools to support records management programmes.

An inititive by the British Library and Arcadia, the Endangered Archives Programme provides grants to individual researchers to identify collections that can be preserved for fruitful use. The original archives will be transferred to a safe archival home in their country of origin, while copies will be deposited at the British Library for use by scholars worldwide. Includes digitized material from endangered archives in the Caribbean, Africa,and the Middle East.

The National Archives of Germany

National Archives of Portugal.

The State Archive of the Russian Federation