Skip to Main Content

Archival Research Tutorial: Visiting York University's ASC

Archival materials give you direct access to the time or event you are studying. The goal of this guide is to help you conduct research at the Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections at York University Libraries.

Where are the archives located?

Front door to ASC

The Clara Thomas Archives & Special Collections (CTASC) are located in room 305 on the third floor of the Scott Library on the Keele campus.

• Access is by appointment only and appointments must be made in advance.
• Appointments are usually available from Tuesday to Friday, 10:00 am to 4:00 pm.
• Researchers must complete a virtual registration form provided by Archives and Special Collections and submit it by email prior to their first visit.
• Researchers must submit a list of up to six items to be examined during their initial visit. Additional material can be retrieved during visits based on staff availability.
• Researchers are welcome to use digital cameras to take images of our holdings for their personal use and private study.
• Face masks are no longer required to be worn on campus, but we strongly encourage researchers to continue wearing them to help prevent the transmission of COVID-19.

• Please contact us at archives@yorku.ca to make an appointment to use our holdings.

We are closed for the York University holiday period

ASC Reading Room interior

Quick Facts about the Clara Thomas ASC

We welcome researchers and visitors.  However, a visit to the Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections (CTASC) is a different experience from visiting another department or section of the library.  Much of what you will experience stems from one of  the traditional roles of archives, as discussed earlier. This also affects how you do your research and the amount of time you need for your visit.  Here are some things you should know prior to contacting CTASC to make an appointment.

Closed Stacks

In libraries, researchers can walk through the stacks (bookshelves) and can browse for items. CTASC's stacks are closed to the public. To browse and search for holdings, researchers use archival descriptions in finding aids and databases available online or in advance consultation with an archivist. Researchers then request materials.  

  • Researchers must identify specific call numbers that staff can retrieve materials.
  • Materials held at CTASC can be viewed only in our Reading Room.
  • The department has limited hours of operation.  Please make note of these times (see Timing below). 

Registering 

All researchers fill out a registration form in which they agree to adhere by certain rules that ensure the safety, security and long-term preservation of the university's research collections. Researchers are then given a reader number and are required to sign the researcher register upon each visit.

  • Upon arrival, researchers present staff with a piece of photo identification (YU card, driver's licence, etc.), which is used to verify contact information from registration form.
  • Upon arrival, researchers must store jackets, bags, cellphones and laptop cases in the designated area.

Handling of materials

Materials held at CTASC are often fragile, rare and unique.

  • Use care when handling items, such as when turning pages or lifting them from their folders.
  • Only pencils and laptops may be used while consulting material.
  • Gloves and book supports are provided as needed.
  • If you wish to take photographs of materials, please ask permission and fill out appropriate forms prior to retrieving a camera.

Timing

It is very important to set aside enough time to conduct your research at CTASC. There are many factors to take into account, such as the availability and accessibility of materials. To book an appointment, email archives@yorku.ca at least three working
days prior to your proposed visit. Please include a list of records or books you wish to consult. You will then receive an email confirming your
appointment time based on booking availability.

ASC staff can:

  • Help you identify and locate materials related to your research
  • Help you read and understand finding aids and guides
  • Answer questions you have about accessing material and material availability


ASC staff will not:

  • Conduct research on your behalf
  • Choose a topic on your behalf for an assignment
  • Select items on your behalf

Tips for a successful visit to the archives

Before you visit:

  • Focus and refine your topic
  • Do your background research
  • Search for appropriate archives to visit
  • Check the hours to make sure that the archives is open and accepting research appointments
  • Browse the website of the archives. You will often find very useful information about the collection you are interested in researching. Sometimes, you may find an A-Z listing of online finding aids to the institution’s archival collections.
  • Contact the archives or library to book an appointment
  • Bring some cash for photocopying, or bring a camera and ask if you are able to take photographs of materials.

When you visit:

  • Expect to Check-in at Scott Library entrance, no admittance to CTASC without an appointment
  • Expect to register as a reader - done online in advance when booking appointment - information verified at research appointment
  • Bring a piece of photo identification (like your driver's licence or YU card)
  • Have patience, we are all adjusting to new workflows