Map Library CollectionMaps at the Clara Thomas Archives and Special CollectionsMaps at the Geographic Resource CentreUsing GazetteersUsing Map Holding ListUsing Map IndexesUsing the Catalogue
Canadian Census in MapsEarth Sciences/GeologyEcology and ForestryHealth and Social IssuesHistorical Atlases and MapsHydrologyMaps about York UniversitySoils and AgricultureTopographic MapsTransportationWeather and Climate
Air PhotosAtlasesFire Insurance PlansGeneral Resources - OnlineGeospatial DataHistoric and Old MapsSatellite ImageryTopographic MapsOrthophotosOutline and Base MapsWall MapsInteractive Maps
Topographic Map Listings and Indexes - Asia, Africa, OceaniaTopographic Map Listings & Indexes - Caribbean and Central AmericaTopographic Map Listings and Indexes - EuropeTopographic Map Listings and Indexes - World & AmericasUnited States Topographic Map Listing
This is the "Home" page of the "Maps and Atlases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Maps and Atlases  

This guide helps you find maps and atlases that can be used in course assignments, or for your research.
Last Updated: May 18, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.library.yorku.ca/maps Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Rosa Orlandini
Contact Info
Phone: 416-736-2100 x88863
Send Email
Subjects:
Geography
Subject tags:
l:gs/geog

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Neil Livingston
Contact Info
GIS Reference Assistant/Coordinator
(416) 736-2100 x 20476
Scott Library, 102B
Send Email
Subjects:
GIS, MAP,
Subject tags:
GIS, MAPS
 
 

What's in this guide

The purpose of this guide is to provide you with tools and strategies to locate maps for your assignment and or for your research. You can browse this guide by looking up the type of map or by topic. Each section of this guide will highlight online and print map and atlas resources at York University Libraries and beyond.

Welcome to York University's subject research guide for geospatial data (GIS data). This guide will introduce you to geospatial data and Geographic Information System software.  This guide provides information on how to successfully select, obtain and use geospatial data and GIS software for your research and assignments.

Finding Maps at York

Map Library Collection | Maps at the Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections | Maps at the Geographic Resource Centre | Using Map Holdings List | Using Map Indexes | Using the Catalogue | Using Gazetteers 

Browse by Map Type

Air Photos | Atlases | Fire Insurance Plans | General Resources - Online | Geospatial Data | Historic/Old Maps | Satellite Imagery | Topographic Maps | Orthophotos | Outline and Base Maps | Wall Maps

Browse by Topic

Canadian Census in Maps | Earth Sciences/Geology | Ecology and Forestry | Health and Social Issues | Historical Atlases and Maps | Hydrology | Maps about York University | Soils and Agriculture | Topographic Maps | Transportation | Weather and Climate

Understanding Maps

Understanding Maps

Citing Maps

Citing Maps

 

New Resources

Related Research Guides

 

Map Library

Do you need travel guides, maps, atlases, air photos, geospatial data and digital maps for your assignment?  Visit the Map Library on the 1st floor of Scott Library! Website. Hours.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip