A gazetteer is index or dictionary of geographical names and places. An entry in a gazetteer includes information about a geographical location such as: former names, alternative spellings, geographic coordinates, map codes, feature type etc.
This databases is allows you to query Canadian geographical names and places by name, geographical coordinates, and using a map interface. It provides detailed information for each official geographic place in Canada. Each entry contains latitude and longitude coordinates, feature type (ie. lake, river, town, hamlet), and the topographic map code for the national topographic maps of Canada.
Map Collection Reference Stand. FC 35 C66 1997 (next to the computers).
This is an easy to use, abbreviated print version of the Geographical Names database. Using this gazetteer, you can search for a geographic location in Canada and determine the latitude and longitude of the feature, and also the corresponding National Topographic map number.
Map Collection Reference FC 3056 R392 1997
Highlights around 2300 place names in Ontario. Each entry provides details about the location of the place or feature, and information on the origin of the name.
Map Library Reference Stand G 103.5 C645 1998. This is an encyclopedia/gazetteer of over 165,000 geographic places and features in the world. It provides physical information, population information, locational information, pronunciations, and former/variant names.
"The GeoNames geographical database is available for download free of charge under a creative commons attribution license. It contains over 10 million geographical names and consists of over 8 million unique features whereof 2.8 million populated places and 5.5 million alternate names." Source: About Geonames.org.
"The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names (US BGN)." Source: http://earth-info.nga.mil/gns/html/. This database doesn't include geographic names from United States.
"The database also contains variant spellings (cross-references), which are useful for finding purposes, as well as non-Roman script spellings of many of these names. All the geographic features in the database contain information about location, administrative division, and quality. The database can be used for a variety of purposes, including establishing official spellings of foreign place names, cartography, GIS, GEOINT, and finding places."
Print version of the GNS database. This is a list from the York University Catalogue of 123 gazetteers covering over 100 countries and regions in the world, that were published by the United States government. Each gazetteer entry contains the geographic name, feature type, latitude and longitude coordinates, and reference information.
Official federal and national standard for geographic nomenclature in the United States and Antarctica.
"The database holds the Federally recognized name of each feature and defines the feature location by state, county, USGS topographic map, and geographic coordinates. Other attributes include names or spellings other than the official name, feature designations, feature classification, historical and descriptive information, and for some categories the geometric boundaries"
