LibGuides: Maps and Atlases: First Nations, Inuit and Métis

Featured Atlases and Books

Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada by The Royal Canadian Geographical Society/Canadian Geographic
Call Number: E 78 C2 I63 2018 Scott Maps
The Royal Canadian Geographical Society, in partnership with national Indigenous organizations in Canada, has created a groundbreaking four-volume atlas that shares the experiences, perspectives, and histories of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. It's an ambitious and unprecedented project inspired by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Calls to Action. Exploring themes of language, demographics, economy, environment and culture, with in-depth coverage of treaties and residential schools, these are stories of Indigenous Peoples in Canada, told in detailed maps and rich narratives. This extraordinary project offers Canada a step on the path toward understanding. The volumes contain more than 48 pages of reference maps, content from more than 50 Indigenous writers; hundreds of historical and contemporary photographs and a glossary of Indigenous terms, timelines, map of Indigenous languages, and frequently asked questions. All packaged together in a beautifully designed protective slipcase.
Atlas of the North American Indian by Carl Waldman
Call Number: G 1106 E1 W3 2009 Scott Maps
Publication Date: 2009
A Stó:lō Coast Salish historical atlas by Keith Thor Carlson (Editor)
Call Number: G 1172 F7 E1 S8 2001 Scott Maps Oversize
Publication Date: 2001
This ground-breaking historical atlas presents a superbly researched comprehensive overview of the physical and social history of the traditional territory of the Sto: lo Nation.
Gaia Atlas of First Peoples by Julian Burger
Call Number: GN 380 B85 1990 Scott Maps
Publication Date: 1990
Living proof : the essential data-collection guide for indigenous use-and-occupancy map surveys by Terry N. Tobias
Call Number: HD 108.38 T62 2009 Scott Maps
Publication Date: 2009
Living Proof offers a peer-reviewed in-depth methodology for the collection of high quality Indigenous cultural data. At 486 pages the book includes over 150 maps, and an equal number of photos and graphics. The methodology is presented in an easy to read writing style with many supporting photos and graphics. Many aboriginal communities across Canada (and two Aboriginal communities from Australia) are presented with stories, photos and maps.
Macquarie Atlas of Indigenous Australia: Second Edition by Bill Arthur (Editor); Frances Morphy (Editor)
Call Number: Scott Maps G2751.E1 M3 2019
Publication Date: 2019

Featured Maps

Coming home : to indigenous place names in Canada by Margaret Wickens Pearce
Call Number: G 3401 E6 0 2017 Scott Maps
Publication Date: 2017
The map depicts Indigenous place names across Canada, shared by permission of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit communities and people. The names express territorial rights and describe the shapes, sounds, and stories of sovereign lands. The names mark the locations of the gathering places, the communities, the places of danger and beauty, and the places where treaties were signed. The names are ancient and recent, both in and outside of time, and they express and assert the Indigenous presence across the Canadian landscape in Indigenous languages. The map does not depict all of the Indigenous place names of Canada, nor are all Indigenous Nations and communities represented. Beyond the map's names are thousands upon thousands more, an ever growing and expanding atlas of intimate, geographical knowledge and experience. The intention of the map is to create respect for Indigenous homelands and sovereignties, and a feeling for and understanding of the place names.
First Nations and treaties = Premières nations et traités by Ontario Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs
Call Number: G 3501 E1 2450 2017 Scott Maps
Publication Date: 2017
Ontario is covered by 46 treaties and other agreements, such as land purchases by the Crown. These agreements were signed between 1781 and 1930. This map shows the boundaries of the treaties in Ontario, as well as the First Nation Reserves and Settlements in Ontario.

Maps, Atlas and Geospatial - Research Guides

Aboriginal Maps and Mapping (University of British Columbia)
This research guide provides direction for finding maps and mapping resources created from Indigenous perspectives as well as other maps relevant to research on Aboriginal topics. Topics include: maps of Canada and British Columbia, language maps, population maps, treaty maps, and residential school maps and Indigenous mapping projects.
Geographic Information System Resources for Indigenous Studies (Carleton University)
A list of geospatial (GIS data) and online maps for research in Indigenous Studies.
GIS and Indigenous Studies (University of Saskatchewan)
University of Saskatchewan's list of online maps and geospatial data for research in Indigenous Studies.
Canada By Treaty: Alliances, Title Transfers and Land Claims - Maps and GIS (University of Toronto)
List of treaty and land claim maps specific to Toronto and Canada.

Print Resources in the Map Collection

To find maps about First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples in the Map Library's collection, please use the Holdings binders located on the first row of cabinets in the Map Library. You can also use the library catalogue, but not all maps are currently catalogued in it.

Many aboriginal maps are generally classifed using the subject code E. For example, maps about Indigenous peoples of Ontario are filed under G 3501 E E1

Detailed list of maps in our collection

Detailed list of books & atlases in our collection

Finding Maps and Atlases in our Collection

Search the York University Catalogue

Try Keywords

map
GIS
atlas
traditional use study
cartography

Use quotation marks to search for a phrase"

Example: "first nations", "traditional use study"

Use a question mark to truncate a term, i.e. search words with the same stem:

Example: aborig? searches aboriginal, aboriginals, aboriginality, etc
Example: indigen? searches indigenous, indigeneity

Subject Headings

Set filters to Subject contains in Omni advanced search:

Try some of the following search terms:

Indigenous Peoples - Maps
Indigenous Peoples - Atlases
First Nations--Maps
Indians of North America--Maps
Indian cartography--North America