Maps and Atlases: Satellite Imagery

EarthExplorer is an online search, discovery, and ordering tool developed by the United States Geological Survey (USGS). Earth Explorer has worldwide satellite imagery and data including Landsat, SPOT, IKONOS, OrbView, EO-1, ASTER, and MODIS.

A complete archive of Sentinel-1, Sentinel-2, Sentinel-3, Sentinel-5P, ESA’s archive of Landsat 5, 7 and 8, global coverage of Landsat 8, Envisat Meris, MODIS, Proba-V and GIBS products. You can use this tool to visualize various predefined or custom spectral band combinations and download imagery.

Consists of an georeferenced GeoEye (IKONOS-2) Satellite Image taken on July 3, 2007. The image is of Downtown Toronto. It can be viewed and downloaded via Scholars Geoportal.

Georeferenced GeoEye (IKONOS-2) satellite image taken on September 1, 2009. The image is of the central part of North York (Toronto) including York University Keele Campus, Yonge Street, Downsview Park, and surroundings. It can be viewed and downloaded via Scholars Geoportal.

Google Earth Engine combines a catalog of satellite imagery and geospatial datasets with planetary-scale analysis capabilities. It enables users to visualize and analyze satellite imagery.

The Ground Control Database (GCDB) is a collection of geo-corrected aerial photo images developed for the GIS and remote sensing community. To search click on the link above, select your geographic area, and do a search for the Series, "Ground Control Database of Canada".

Geogratis provides access to several Landsat satellite imagery products of Canada.

Access via the Scholars Geoportal, greyscale or true colour

RADARSAT-1 orthoimages are stored as raster data produced from SAR Standard 7 (S7) beam mode with a pixel size of 15 m.

DMTI Satellite Streetview contains orthorectified and pansharperned QuickBird Satellite imagery, 60 cm resolution, of cities across Canada. Imagery can be viewed and downloaded via Scholars Geoportal by searching the keywords "Satellite StreetView".

Worldview 2 Satellite Image: Georeferenced image of York University Keele campus and parts of the City of Vaughan. This data consists of two images: a multispectral (colour – 8 bands) and a panchromatic (black and white). It can be downloaded via Scholars Geoportal.

Worldview 2 Satellite Image of York University's Las Nubes eco-campus and surrounding area. This georeferenced satellite image can be used as a raster layer in GIS, as well as for remote sensing analysis. Consists of two images, a multispectral (colour – 8 bands) and a panchromatic (black and white). For more details about this dataset, please consult the metadata. This satellite image is only available to students and faculty at York University and the University of Costa Rica. It may only be used for research and educational purposes. To acquire the data use Geoportal. For students of University of Costa Rica and Centro Cientifico Tropical, contact gislib@yorku.ca to acquire the data.

Worldview-2 satellite imagery of York University - Keele Campus. It can be downloaded via Scholars Geoportal.