York University Libraries digital map collection consists of selection of scanned print maps from our Map Library and the Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections. These maps were digitized and described as part the “Geospatial Literacies for All” Project, that was funded by the Academic Innovation Fund from 2018 to 2020. This guide contains information on how you can browse for maps, search for maps, look for maps in other digital map collections, and access how to guides.
Featured Collection
Featured Collection
Featured Collection
Featured Collection
Featured Map
Featured Map
Featured Map
If you have any questions about how to search or browse for digital maps or request a digital copy of a map in our collection that isn't in the York University Digital Library, please email gislib@yorku.ca.
Research consultation appointments can be booked with Rosa Orlandini, Data Services Librarian (Maps and Geospatial Librarian).
The Geospatial Literacies for All Project is an Academic Innovation Fund project, funded by the Associate Vice-President Teaching and Learning, with additional financial support from York University Libraries. The goal of this project was to digitize public-domain print maps from the York University Map Library and Clara Thomas Archives and Special collections and make the maps accessible and available for teaching and learning purposes to the York University community.
This project was initiated by Dana Craig, and led by Rosa Orlandini, Data Services Librarian at York University Libraries. We would like to thank the following individuals: Zara Malm and Veronica Petta two dedicated undergraduate students hired on this project to do the scanning and measuring of the maps, and painstaking data entry; Janet Neate for her assistance in coordinating workflows, troubleshooting "Jesse" (the scanner), performing quality control, and the geolocating the maps; Denny Markov and David Montgomery for their hard work in the creation of metadata; Matthew Fesnick and HIlary Barlow for their metadata creation, cataloguing, and learning materials creation; Anna St.Onge for her guidance creating workflows and troubleshooting in YUDL; and Andrea Kosavic and Dana Craig for kickstarting this project and providing guidance to see it through. We would also like to thank our colleagues at Archives and Special Collections, Access Services, Metadata Discovery & Access, and the staff at the Dean of the Libraries Office.
All icons used on this guide are from Styled Icons.
