LibGuides: Maps and Atlases: Maps about York University

Maps and Plans produced by York University

Interactive maps of York University
Interactive, mobile friendly, and print-friendly maps of the Keele Campus and the Glendon Campus. Includes 360 panoramas & videos, all buildings, transportation features (transit, car share, cycling, parking, drop-offs, covered walkways, VanGo Mobility shuttle, and shuttle stops), University services locations, points of interest, community safety (security services, AEDs & emergency telephones), accessible entrances, sustainability (battery bins, clothing donation bins, electric vehicle charging stations, gardens, LEED buildings, compost stations, water refill stations, & woodlots).
Maps of Keele and Glendon Campuses (PDF Format)
York University Campus Map, 1983/84, 1992, 1993
These are maps produced by York University of the Keele Campus. These maps are available in print format and are located in Map Cabinet #68 in the Map Collection.

Aerial Photography, Orthoimagery, and Satellite Imagery

Digital Formats

2009-2018. Orthoimagery. City of Toronto.
Digital/Online Format. Orthoimagery of Toronto produced by the Surveys & Mapping Services at the City of Toronto. Coverage is available for every year between 2009 to 2018. Images are available for viewing and downloading via Scholars Geoportal.
This is a licensed product and only available to members of the York University community for research and educational purposes.
2016. Satellite Image of York University’s Keele Campus
Georeferenced Worldview 2 Satellite image of York University Keele campus and parts of the City of Vaughan captured in 2016. Consists of two images: a multispectral (colour – 8 bands) and a panchromatic (black and white).
2012. Satellite Image of Keele Campus and Surrounding Areas.
Georeferenced Worldview 2 Satellite image of York University Keele campus and parts of the City of Vaughan captured in 2012. Consists of two images: a multispectral (colour – 8 bands) and a panchromatic (black and white).
2009. Satellite Image of North York and Keele Campus
Georeferenced GeoEye Satellite image of North York and Keele Campus, captured in 2009. Consists of two images: multispectral (4 bands) and panchromatic (black and white) .

Print Format

These photo maps and aerial photographs in print format are located in the Scott Library Map Collection.

2002 - Ortho Map Book - City of Toronto
Print Format. Map Collection, Maps Oversize G/1149/T7 C58/2002.
1986. Air Photos, Ministry of Natural Resources.
Print Format. Flight Line 16, Exposures 125 and 126 (Keele Campus). Located in the Airphoto Cabinets.
1983-1998. Metropolitan Toronto Photomaps,
Print Format.. Located in the map cabinets. Available for years 1983,1985,1987,1989,1991,1993,1995,1997 and 1998. Sheet number 47Q (Keele Campus), 52L (Glendon Campus). Map Collection map cabinets, call number G/3524/T61 A4/5/19_ _/47Q
1982. Air Photos. Ministry of Natural Resources.
Print Format. Flight line 19, Exposures 129 and 130 (Keele Campus), Flight line 17, Exposure 83 and Flight line 30, Exposure 39 (Glendon Campus). Located in Airphoto Cabinets.
1980. Metropolitan Toronto Photomaps,
Print Format. Sheet numbers 161 (Keele Campus), 85 & 104 (Glendon Campus). Map Collection map cabinets. Call number G/3524/T61 A4/5/1980.
1978. Air Photos, Ministry of Natural Resources.
Print Format. Flight line 4354, Roll 52, Exposure 193 (Keele Campus), Flight line 4351, Roll 70, Exposure 145 (Glendon Campus). Located in Airphoto Cabinets.
1974. Metropolitan Toronto Photomaps
Print Format. Sheet numbers 260 & 261 (Keele Campus), 125 (Glendon Campus). Located in the map cabinets at call number G/3524/T6 A4/4/1974.
1971. Air Photos. Ministry of Natural Resources.
Print Format. Flight line 4332, Roll 38, Exposure 10, 11 (Keele Campus), Flight line 4330, Roll 50, Exposure 91 (Glendon Campus). Located in Airphoto Cabinets.
1954. Air Photos. Ministry of Natural Resources.
Print Format.. Flight line 4335, Roll 22, Exposures 93 and 94 (Keele Campus), Flight line 4333, Roll 22, Exposure 217 (Glendon Campus). Located in Airphoto Cabinets.
1954. Air Photo Mosaic
Print Format.. Sheet numbers 436 792W, 437 792E, 437 792W, 437 793E. Located in the map cabinets at call number G/3521/A4/15/1954-.
2013 - Greater Toronto Area Orthophotography
Orthoimagery (20 cm) resolution of the Greater Toronto Area from 2013, produced by First Base Solutions
2005. Greater Toronto Area Orthoimagery
Orthoimagery (20 cm) resolution of the Greater Toronto Area from 2005, collected by First Base Solutions and distributed by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.

York University Master Plans & Studies

Planning documents provides information (text, maps, and photos) about the current status of a given location and establishes a framework to guide future development and/or redevelopment of the area. Below are a list of major planning documents about York University:

York University Secondary Plan. City of Toronto. 2009.
City of Toronto's secondary plan for the York University area.
South Keele Woodlot Sustainability Study, 2001
Call number G/1149/T6 Y67/2001, located in the Oversize Book section.
Landscape Inventory & Impact Study, York Campus, 1990.
Call number G/1149/T6 Y67/1990, located in the Oversize Book section.
York University - Campus Master Plan Vol. 1-4, 1987.
Call number G/1149/T6 Y67/1987, located in the Oversize Book section.
Report of the Master Plan for the York University Campus, 1963
Call number G/1149/T6 Y67/1963, located in the Oversize Book section.

Topographic Maps

Property Data Maps. Scale 1:1000.
Property Data Maps are large scale topographic maps produced by the City of Toronto.
Print Version. Property Data Maps. City of Toronto. Call number G/3524/T61 G46/2/. The Map Collection has 1998, 2002, and 2007 in print. Sheet numbers 47Q-11, 47Q-12, 47Q-13, 47Q-21, 47Q- 22, 47Q-23 (Keele Campus), sheet number 52L-21 (Glendon Campus). Call number G/3524/T61 G46/2/.
Digital Versions. For digital versions of more recent years, please see the Geospatial Data section.
Topographic Maps Scale 1:10,000.
Ontario Base Maps are large scale topographic maps at the scale of 1:10,000 that are produced by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.
Print Version: Ontario Base Maps corresponding to York University are sheet numbers 10 17 6150 48450 & 10 17 6200 48450 (Keele Campus), sheet number 10 17 6300 48400 (Glendon Campus). Map Collection, call number G/3500/-/10/1980-.
Digital Version:Make a Topographic Map. Ministry of Natural Resources.
Topographic Maps. Scale 1:25,000.
Large scale topographic maps from the 1960s and 1970s published by the Government of Canada's, Department of Energy Mines and Resources.
Digital Version: Available for viewing and downloading via Scholars Geoportal.
Print Version: topographic maps of Keele Campus 30M/13a, 30M/14d, and Glendon Campus 30M/11c, 30M/11e, 30M/11f. Map Collection call number G/3400/25.
Topographic Maps. Scale: 1:50,000
Topographic maps at the scale of 1:50,000 produced by the Department of Energy, Mines and Resources & Natural Resources Canada.
Digital Version: Keele Campus 30M13 and 30M14, PDF and TIFF formats. Glendon Campus 30M11, PDF & TIFF formats.
Print Version: Sheet number 30M/13, 30M/14 (Keele campus), sheet number 30M/11 (Glendon campus). Located in the Map Collection map cabinets, call number G/3400/50.
Topographic Maps, 1:250,000. Government of Canada.
Topographic maps at the scale of 1:250,000 produced Resources & Natural Resources Canada.
Digital Version: 30M. PDF and TIFF Formats.
Print Version: Sheet number 30M. Map Collection map cabinets, call number G/3400/50.

Select Thematic Maps at the Map Colleciton

Road Map of Toronto & Southern Ontario
Print road map, scale 1:12,500. Call number G/3524/T62/12/2013.
Road Map of Toronto & Area
Print road map, various scales. Call number G/1149/T7 M27/2016.
Toronto Cycling Map
Call number G/3524/T61 E63/34/2012.
Physiographic map of Southern Ontario, Central section
Scale. 1:250,000. Call number G/3521/C2/250/1951/Central
Zoning Maps, 1971-1991
Call numbers:
- 3524/T67 M1/36/1972
- 3524/T67 G44/12/1972
- G/3524/T67 G44/12/1988
- G/3524/T67 G44/2/1991/sheet 40
Cadastral Map - North York
Scale 1:2,000. Call number 3524/T67 G46/2/1978/no.40.
Municipal Map Book
Toronto street guide with address ranges. Call number G/1149/T6/T672/2008 v. 3.

York University Keele and Glendon Campus Geospatial Data

3D Massing (Building Shapes) City of Toronto
This is a geospatial 3D ESRI shape / 3D CAD format file of building shapes for City of Toronto. This includes the building on the Keele Campus and Glendon Campus.
Building outlines with heights and clutter (land use) data. Geographic Coverage: York University Keele Campus
Year of Coverage: April 2010. Producer: RMSI Ltd. For more details consult the metadata description.
Access: Available for research and educational purposes, only for the York University Community. Please request the data via our GAIA request system.
If you need a more recent version of the building footprints, we recommend using the 3D Massing file from the City of Toronto.
LiDAR Data of the City of Toronto
LiDAR data set produced by Airborne Imaging covering the City of Toronto is derived from the Airborne Imaging LiDAR Greater Toronto Area data library. The data was captured in Spring 2014/2015 and is distributed in ¼ km square tiles. The LiDAR data products available in this data set are: [1] Point Cloud LIDAR Data: LAS Format; [2] Digital Terrain Model (1 metre Grids) of Bare Earth and Full Feature: XYZ ASCII Format; [3] Hillside Images, Bare Earth and Full Feature: GeoTIFF Format; [4] 50 cm Contours, Bare Earth: Shapefile format. The data are distributed with basic metadata, detailed metadata, and reports. To order the LiDAR data consult the Index map, submit a data request via GAIA, and specify which tiles and products you need.
Open Data - City of Toronto
The official source for Toronto open data from City divisions and agencies. It provides a variety of spatial and tabular datasets pertaining to the city's population, infrastructure, and services. Topics include: Locations & Mapping, City Government, Community Services, Transportation, Development and Infrastructure, Public Safety, Health, Finance, Environment, Culture and Tourism, Business, Parks and Recreation, Permits & Licenses, Water, Garbage & Recycling.
Property Data Maps. City of Toronto. DWG Format
Description:The Property Data Maps are detailed maps of the City of Toronto that show building footprints, sidewalks, street and traffic infrastructure, spot heights etc. The data is available in DWG format and can be read in a GIS or a drawing program such as Autocad. Our collection covers 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010-2013, and 2015-2022.
Access: Research and Educational Purposes for members of the York University community. The years 2013, 2015, 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022 are available via the Scholars Geoportal. Do a data search for the term "toronto property data maps".
If you need Property Data plans from prior to 2013 and for 2023, please request the data via our GAIA request system; specify the title, tile numbers, format, and the year you would like. Consult the PDM Index Map to determine which tiles you need.
Publisher: City of Toronto Survey and Mapping Services.
Property Data Maps. City of Toronto. PDF Format
Description: The Property Data Maps are detailed maps of the City of Toronto that show building footprints, sidewalks, street and traffic infrastructure, spot heights etc. The data is available in PDF format. Our collection covers 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015.
Access: Research and Educational Purposes for members of the York University community. Please request the data via our GAIA request system; specify the title, tile numbers, format, and the year you would like. Consult the PDM Index Map to determine which tiles you need.
Publisher: City of Toronto Survey and Mapping Services.
York University Interactive Map
This is an interactive map of York University. It contains layers related to buildings, transportation, services, points of interest, accessibility, community safety, sustainability, tunnels and walkways. Please note, the layers are not available in geospatial data formats.

Aerial Photography, Orthoimagery, and Satellite Imagery (Digital)

Digital Formats

Below is a list of satellite imagery, aerial imagery, and orthoimagery (georeferenced imagery that can be used in a GIS) that covers Keele Campus and Glendon Campus.

Orthoimagery. City of Toronto. 2009 to 2018.
Digital/Online Format. Orthoimagery of Toronto produced by the Surveys & Mapping Services at the City of Toronto. Coverage is available for every year between 2009 to 2018. Images are available for viewing and downloading via Scholars Geoportal.
This is a licensed product and only available to members of the York University community for research and educational purposes.
Satellite Image of York University’s Keele Campus. 2016.
Georeferenced Worldview 2 Satellite image of York University Keele campus and parts of the City of Vaughan captured in 2016. Consists of two images: a multispectral (colour – 8 bands) and a panchromatic (black and white).
Greater Toronto Area Orthophotography. 2013.
Orthoimagery (20 cm) resolution of the Greater Toronto Area from 2013, produced by First Base Solutions
Satellite Image of Keele Campus and Surrounding Areas. 2012.
Georeferenced Worldview 2 Satellite image of York University Keele campus and parts of the City of Vaughan captured in 2012. Consists of two images: a multispectral (colour – 8 bands) and a panchromatic (black and white).
Satellite Image of North York and Keele Campus. 2009.
Georeferenced GeoEye Satellite image of North York and Keele Campus, captured in 2009. Consists of two images: multispectral (4 bands) and panchromatic (black and white) .
Greater Toronto Area Orthophotography. 2009/2010..
Orthoimagery (20 cm resolution) of the Greater Toronto Area.
Greater Toronto Area Orthophotography. 2007.
Orthoimagery (15 cm resolution) of the Greater Toronto area from 2007. Collected by First Base Solutions and published by Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.
Greater Toronto Area Orthoimagery. 2005.
Orthoimagery (20 cm) resolution of the Greater Toronto Area from 2005, collected by First Base Solutions and distributed by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.
Greater Toronto Area Orthophotography. 2002.
Orthoimagery (20 cm resolution) of Toronto captured in 2002, and published by the Ministry of Natural Resources.
Greater Toronto Orthophotography. 1995.
Orthoimagery (100 cm resolution) captured in the autumn of 1995, produced by Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.