LibGuides: Maps and Atlases: Soils and Agriculture

Print Resources at the Map Collection

To find soil and agriculture maps in the Map Collection. Please use the Holdings binders located on the first row of map cabinets in the Map Collection. You can also use the library catalogue, but not all maps are currently catalogued in it.

Agriculture and soil maps are generally classifed using the subject code J. For example, soil maps of York Region, filed with the other Ontario county soil maps under G 3501 J3.

Online Resources

AgMaps Ontario
Agricultural Information Atlas
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Maps and data.
Canadian Soil Information Service
Manages and provides access to soil and land resource information on behalf of the federal, provincial, and territorial governments.
CanSIS Downloadable Maps
Includes ecozones, soil landscapes, and Canada Land Inventory maps
Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps
Harmonized Soil Database of the World
Map viewer and GIS data
ISRIC
World Soil Information Database
National Soil Database
National archive for soil and land resource information in Canada. Spatial datasets provide information on ecological groupings, soil properties and distribution.
Soil Survey Complex
This is a geospatial soils database for Southern Ontario. Members of the York University community can view this map layer using Scholars Geoportal. If the link above doesn't work, go to https://geo1.scholarsportal.info/ and search for "Soil Survey Complex".
Surficial Geology of Southern Ontario
This is a geospatial dataset that can be used in a GIS that shows the surficial geology of Southern Ontario. It includes information about the deposits such as sand, gravel, silt, clay and loam that lie on top of bedrock. Members of the York University community can view this map layer using Scholars Geoportal. If the link above doesn't work, go to https://geo1.scholarsportal.info/ and search for "Surficial Geology of Southern Ontario".