LibGuides: Maps and Atlases: Canadian Census in Maps

Online Census Maps & Resources

Canadian Statistical Geospatial Explorer
Using this tool you can discover Statistics Canada’s geographically enabled data, such as the census, data down to the dissemination area. Users can find, explore then export data in various formats to use in their workflows. Users can also customize the map and change basemaps (satellite imagery, topography, etc.) to view data in a different context.
GeoSearch
Interactive mapping application that makes it easy to find many places in Canada. You can see it on the map, determine the census geographies for a location (such as Census Tract number), and get basic demographic data for those places.
Guide to Census Data
This guide, prepared by Walter Giesbrecht (Data Librarian), lists sources of census data for Canada. It includes links to Census datasets, and instructions on how to find census tract data.
Reference Maps
Canadian census reference maps, including census tract and dissemination areas from the 2001, 2006, 2011, and 2016 Census..
SimplyAnalytics
Create and download thematic maps, tables, reports and geospatial data using Canadian and American demographic, business, and marketing variables. It is only available to members of the York University community.
Canadian data sources include: Adjusted Census Data, Demographic Estimates, Household Spending, PRIZM, and COVID-19 Outbreak data.
American data sources include: U.S. Census Bureau Data, Community Demographic Estimates, Consumer Expenditure Estimates, Uniform Crime Reporting and NOAA Climate Divisional Database.
Thematic Maps from the 2016, 2011, and 2006 Census
Canadian census thematic maps produced by Statistics Canada, available for download in PDF format for the 2006, 2011, and 2016 Census. .
Toronto 1996 Census Atlas
Maps of census data (University of Toronto Data, Map and Government Information Services Library)
Toronto Social Atlas for 2016, 2011, and 2006
City of Toronto's social atlas that maps numerous topics from the census at the census tract level

Census Maps in the Map Collection

Canadian census maps are generally located in three main areas of the Map Collection (first floor Scott Library). Census Maps of Canada and collections of Canadian CMA’s and CA’s are located in G/3401/E25/. These would include general census tract maps.

For maps that are specifically showing the Greater Toronto Area or CMA, look under the call number G/3524/T6 E25/. If you want a thematic map of Greater Toronto showing, for example, average household income for 1971, use G/3524/T6 and look under the Subject Listing for Housing (E7).

You will also find a collection of maps under the former Metropolitan Toronto or the current City of Toronto located in the G/3524/T61 E21 (or ) E25 section. Again if there are specifically themed maps they will be located within the same geographical area of G/3524/T61 with the appropriate subject.

There is a collection of metropolitan atlases for various cities located in the oversize stacks located at the back of the room under the call number G/1116/E25/M48/1989. Census mother tongue atlases are also located in the oversize collection G/1149/T6/M68. The Map Collection Booklet Collection houses older editions of the metropolitan atlases series under the call number 3401/E21/-/1981.