| Department | Director/Manager Contacts | Key Contacts for Each Department |
| Curriculum & Course Support |
Access Services Manager Michelle De Agostini, 44632 mdeagost@yorku.ca Student Engagement Manager Tanya Prince, 33671 tprince@yorku.ca CCSD Supervisor Trevor Daniels, 66523 tdaniels@yorku.ca |
Accessibility Services: lashelp@yorku.ca Circulation queries: askusyul@yorku.ca Reference Questions: See the Ask A Question web site Resource sharing/interlibrary loan: resourcesharing@@yorku.ca Copyright Support Services Department (YUL): Jasintha Ariyaratnam : jariyara@yorku.ca Jessica Mifsud : jmmifsud@yorku.ca |
| Student Learning & Academic Success |
Director Lisa Sloniowski lisasl@yorku.ca |
Main contact email: SLAS-YUL@YORKU.CA Book a Library Class: Class Request Form |
| Content Development & Analysis |
Director Patti Ryan, pryan@yorku.ca Adriana Bugyiova, 22798 |
Queries re availability or purchase of e-resources, e-books and other materials: yul_cda@yorku.ca or Suggestions for purchase online form Donations: Adriana Bugyiova, 22798, adrianab@yorku.ca Reporting technical issues with e-resources: ereport@yorku.ca Reporting cataloguing errors: yulcataloguing@yorku.ca OR mmonika@yorku.ca (Monika Macieri, Cataloguing Assistant) Request a database trial: Aaron Lupton, aalupton@yorku.ca Licensing/terms of use queries: Aaron Lupton, aalupton@yorku.ca Weeding, Challenged Materials: Patti Ryan, pryan@yorku.ca |
| Open Scholarship |
Director Stephanie Quail appointed Director of Open Scholarship, March 1, 2024 through June 30th 2026.
Minglu Wang appointed Director of Open Scholarship July 1, 2026 through June 30th 2029. |
Data Services Requests (including consultations): datalib@yorku.ca Data Services Consultation Appointments Open access: opendeposit@yorku.ca Research data management: yul_rdm@yorku.ca Research metrics: metrics@yorku.ca |
| Digital Scholarship Infrastructure (DSC) |
Director Kris Joseph kjo@yorku.ca |
DSC e-mail for public distribution: diginit@yorku.ca YorkSpace queries: astonge@yorku.ca or scoysh@yorku.ca or gennyjon@yorku.ca OJS and digital publishing queries: tmrozews@yorku.ca Digital Humanities, Scalar or Omeka: kjo@yorku.ca Digitial preservation queries: astonge@yorku.ca
|
| Metadata, Discovery & Access |
|
Metadata, Discovery & Access has merged or been subsumed by Content Development & Analysis. |
| Library Digital Systems & Initiatives |
Manager, Library Information Systems tuan@yorku.ca |
Issues relating to library systems including web services and software applications including Omni: lcshelp@yorku.ca |
| Library Digital Technology Services |
Manager, Microcomputer Support Pio Sebastiampillai, 22797 pio.sebastiampillai@yorku.ca |
Issues with public computers or staff computers: lcshelp@yorku.ca |
The Curriculum and Course Support Department directs the library user experience in a comprehensive fashion through integrative approaches. This Department is charged with reimagining and enhancing the following services:
The above service areas will develop to become more intentionally and closely integrated with the Learning Commons, also housed within this Department. Strengthening the Libraries’ leadership role in the Learning Commons constitutes a core function of this Department, as YUL works more closely with LC partners to improve student engagement and access to flexible and on- demand learning support services.
The Curriculum and Course Support Department will be recognized for exceptional user-focused services that inspire and empower innovative and sustainable modes of engagement with and access to the Library’s resources.
The Curriculum and Course Support Department advances academic success by focusing on the library user experience and by developing innovative, agile services supported by well-trained, motivated staff.
Additional Information:
CCSD web site on Staff Intranet
The Student Learning and Academic Success Department (SLAS) is responsible for advancing a cohesive and coordinated approach to developing students’ information and other academic literacies throughout programs at York University to create critical thinkers and life-long learners.
The Department is also responsible for developing a YUL-wide culture of effective and excellent teaching and learning using a structured and integrative approach (curricular, program, course, co-curricular) that focuses on developing undergraduate and graduate students’ information and academic literacies that contribute to student success. This Department works closely with librarians and archivists to help them develop new pedagogical and collaborative approaches, such as student-centred e-learning objects and open educational resources. Assessing the effectiveness of services through meaningful metrics underpins the piloting and enhancement of services in this Division.
A YUL-wide culture of excellent teaching that is structured, integrative, collaborative, sustainable, and demonstrably contributes to student success. We will empower our community to discover, value and create knowledge responsibly and collaboratively in a digital age.
This Department prepares critically engaged consumers and producers of information within a social justice framework and contributes to student academic success. It also collaborates with faculty in embedding information literacy learning objectives and outcomes into programs and curricula, as well as it supports York librarians and archivists in their teaching and learning work.
Additional Information:
SLAS web site on Staff Intranet
The Content Development & Analysis Department is responsible for strategically identifying, acquiring, licensing, and promoting content and distinctive collections in all formats that support curricular and research needs, and for facilitating and advocating for appropriate access and licensing and content development through regional and national consortia. The Department is charged with developing systems-wide approaches to content acquisition and analysis at YUL, working with subject librarians to identify growing areas of curricular and research strength and establish priorities for growth, and setting the strategic direction for how content in all formats is managed at YUL. Other important elements of the work of this Department include: enhancing community engagement our print and digital collections, building and animating collections that manifest the values of diversity and inclusion, developing overarching strategies and tools for robust analysis, and working with relevant YUL departments to maximize discoverability and access.
The Department will be an inspiring and ever-evolving hub for the development of unique and robust research content at York University. We will use innovative approaches to fulfill our core mission and to foster independent scholarly inquiry. Expanding our scope beyond the local, we will work collaboratively with library partners provincially and beyond to build our collective capacity, and to more effectively engage with researchers internationally. We deeply value the vital role of content and collections in the cultivation of an engaged citizenry and will animate these connections through creative and inclusive strategies for acquisition, promotion, and access.
The Department builds collections of significant breadth and depth to support the curricular and research programs of the university community. It plays a vital role in the stewardship of important and at times marginalized cultural heritage, and in promoting and building economically sustainable models for the dissemination of scholarship.
Additional Information:
CDA web site on Staff Intranet
This department is responsible for collectively building capacity within YUL that aligns with research intensification efforts across campus. Thus, members of this department will oversee the development of expertise across YUL and the wider campus community specifically in the areas of open scholarship and scholarly communication, and will undertake the execution of a range of services that support researchers through the entire research lifecycle – planning, research management, publishing, preservation & dissemination, and discovery & impact. Some of the work undertaken by this department may be controversial for some members of the York community, and librarians/archivists in these roles will need to be skilled at navigating challenging conversations. The department also works to facilitate, enhance, and advocate for the research capacity of librarians/archivists within YUL.
The department will be the campus centre for expertise and advocacy in open scholarship and scholarly communications at York University. It will engage members of the campus community in discussions surrounding openness and accessibility across the full range of disciplines, building awareness about key issues in scholarly communications across campus, and cultivating among librarians, archivists, and researchers a growing ability to engage with the concepts and tools of open scholarship in new, fruitful, and critical ways.
The department supports research intensification within YUL and across the wider campus by promoting, communicating, and leveraging its expertise in scholarly communications and open access.
Additional Information:
Open Scholarship web site on Staff Intranet
Digital Scholarship Infrastructure (DSI) is responsible for digital scholarship activities at YUL, including open publishing, digital preservation, web archiving, and digital humanities and social sciences. DSI will lead the team and colleagues across the libraries to envision, plan and deliver innovative and sustainable digital research services in concert with student, faculty, and library needs. Through exploration of new technologies and engagement with digital scholarship and digital library practices, standards and systems, this team will provide strong leadership, coordination, and project management for the team. The Departmental team will oversee the selection and implementation of appropriate technologies and develop the skill sets of team members and affiliated students, research teams, and members of the community. This includes: overseeing requests for new digital scholarship initiatives; contributing to discussions of digital collection building with creative ideas for meaningful new uses of digital content and an understanding of data curation; and developing services in support of introducing digital research methods and approaches, supporting engagement with new audiences. The team also provide secondary support in areas where the Department of Open Scholarship leads: particularly research data management and scholarly communications. The Director and team members engage in outreach and maintaining relationships with faculty, staff and campus partners to enable digital research and the development of the digital scholarship program at YUL and beyond.
Digital Scholarship Infrastructure will be the core functioning unit fostering and supporting digital scholarship and preservation (as well as discovery and dissemination) at York University Libraries and the York University community through a lens of sustainability. DSI will develop a team of experts in the area of open publishing, digital humanities and social sciences (DHSS) and digital curation and preservation. DSI will foster knowledge and skills acquisition for students, faculty and community members in order to cultivate shared communities of practice around the critical and ethical use of technology in generating knowledge and scholarship.
The mission of Digital Scholarship Infrastructure (DSI) is to maintain and prioritize programming in the areas of digital preservation, digital scholarship, open publishing, open data, and digital humanities and social sciences (DHSS) with particular care taken to ensure sustainability (of infrastructure, resources, expertise and personnel) and the preservation of unique collections held by York University Libraries and the scholarship of York University faculty, students and community members. This includes cultivating baseline competencies of YUL employees in these areas.
As part of the Digital Scholarship Centre at York University Libraries, the Media Creation Lab provides equitable access to space, equipment and resources for students and faculty who are creating multimedia as part of learning, research, or teaching.
Additional Information:
Digital Scholarship Infrastructure web site on Staff Intranet
This department provides leadership and operations management for achieving a comprehensive, cross-collection, service-centred approach to enabling and enhancing discovery of YUL’s resources and the broader scholarship of York University. The field of metadata is an area of rapid expansion and opportunity, and librarians will be committed to self-learning and research, monitoring external developments and changing needs in these areas, while integrating new developments to inform workflows, practice, and future strategy for resource discovery, interoperability, and metadata exchange. All members of this department will be committed to cross-training across the positions and offering instructional workshops through the Digital Scholarship Centre to communicate core metadata fundamentals in support of library initiatives such as research data management and to share advancements in the field with YUL and the broader university.
MDA will become the inspirational heart of the campus recognized for its expertise in knowledge organization.
MDA provides excellence in knowledge organization and discovery in the pursuit of supporting research, teaching and learning at York University.
Additional Information:
Metadata, Discovery & Analysis on Staff Intranet
Central to the work to this department is the development of web services and software applications, inclusive of specialized content delivery solutions for the library catalogue. This work intersects with disaster recovery, data security, and digital preservation efforts. This department collaborates with other units in the libraries to design and implement web strategies and applications that enhance the user experience for library staff and the broader campus. This department will support the platforms underpinning the work of the Digital Scholarship Infrastructure department. In collaboration with Digital Technology Services, the department will engage in proactively exploring new tools in support of digital scholarship and digital humanities and user experience. This work will underpin their connection with the Digital Scholarship Centre, primarily with respect to providing expert technical consultations for research and digital projects. Library Digital Systems and Initiatives will explore synergistic partnerships with Compute Canada, OCUL, and campus IT in support of the DSC and the broader library mission. Support for campus researchers and students will include the deployment of virtual machines to make available computing environments that allow for experimentation with a variety of digital scholarship tools.
Become an innovative, educational and people-oriented digital services platform for York University Library by providing outstanding technology and services for staff, faculty and students
To give York University Library the power to fulfill its mission by providing outstanding technology and services.
Additional Information:
Library Digital Systems & Initiatives on Staff Intranet
Library Digital Technology Services (LDTS), in conjunction with Library Digital Systems & Initiatives Department (LDSI), functions as the York University Libraries’(YUL) information technology services department.
LDTS ensures that the technological infrastructure underpinning library operations supports the current and future work of the libraries in furthering its mission of advancing teaching and learning. As contributors to the Digital Scholarship Centre, members of the department will take on an outward facing role to support the technical underpinnings that are crucial to centre operations. Under the direction of the Manager, Digital Technology Services, the department will proactively acquire expertise with emerging tools in the Digital Scholarship/Digital Humanities landscape and will work with the Centre to develop programming and supporting resources to share this knowledge with the broader community.
LDTS works collaboratively with all YUL departments and with UIT to provide a system-wide platform for computing in the Libraries by integrating hardware and data security, best practices in digital preservation, broader collaboration with campus technology offerings, and agile user support to ensure that administrative, operational, and research objectives are met and enhance the user experience for the broader library community.
Become an innovative, educational and people-oriented digital services platform for York University Library by providing outstanding technology and services for staff, faculty and students.
To give York University Library the power to fulfill its mission by providing outstanding technology and services.
Additional Information:
Library Digital Technology Services on Staff Intranet