Skip to Main Content
Recent Statistics Canada releases on Energy
Last updated 2023.01.16
- Statistic Canada's energy statistics portal
Statistic Canada's one-stop shop to find data, tools, and reports from the government on the latest information on energy statistics.
- Canadian Centre for Energy Information (Natural Resources Canada)
Data portal to find independent and trusted information on energy in Canada. It provides links to over 550 data products from numerous governmental and non-governmental sources from across Canada. It houses resources on all things energy-related, including production, consumption, efficiency, international trade and much more.
- Fuel consumption ratings search tool (Natural Resources Canada)
Locate fuel consumption ratings for specified vehicles.
- Minerals and the Economy (Natural Resources Canada)
Facts and figures about the mining industry in Canada
- National Energy Use Database (Natural Resources Canada)
Canada-wide data and statistics on energy consumption for all energy-consuming sectors.
- National Energy Board statistics and analysis
Data on: crude oil and petroleum products; electricity exports and imports; frontier exploration; liquid petroleum gas (LPG) underground inventories in Canada; natural gas exports & imports; natural gas liquids.
- Petroleum price data (Kent Marketing Group)
MJ Ervin & Associates conducts a weekly survey of prices for retail gasoline, diesel, propane, and furnace fuel in about 60 different Canadian cities. The survey is made available on our website at approximately 3:00 pm Eastern Time on Tuesday every week. Reports available for crude oil, motor gasoline, diesel, propane, natural gas, and furnace oil. Data are available
- on different types within each category,
- with or without taxes,
- at daily, weekly, monthly or annual frequencies, depending on the fuel type
- 1987-present
- SNL Metals and Mining
a unique database that provides data and research on activity in the global metals and mining industries and is one of the best research databases the library has for this field. Check out this user guide for installing and using the SNL Metals & Mining's Office Add-in. To use the Office Add-in off-campus, make sure you use York's VPN.
- Statistics Canada data tables related to 'energy'
Time-series data on coal, crude oil and natural gas, energy consumption and disposition, nuclear and electric power, petroleum products, pipelines.
- Sustainable Energy for All (World Bank)
Provides country level historical data for access to electricity and non-solid fuel; share of renewable energy in total final energy consumption by technology; and energy intensity rate of improvement.
Last updated 2023.04.27
- EnergyData.Info (World Bank)
An open data platform providing access to datasets and data analytics that are relevant to the energy sector
- Energy Balances and Electricity Profiles (U.N.)
Provides energy balances for 141 countries and electricity profiles for 221 countries. The energy balances are snapshots of the annual energy flows in each country showing production, trade, transformation and consumption of energy products. They are presented in a common unit – Terajoules. The electricity profiles provide detailed information for each country on the production, trade and consumption of electricity, net installed capacity and thermal power plant input and efficiency.
- Energy Information Administration
Data on various energy sources, as well as energy-related environmental data, and related information from other countries.
- Energy and Mining (World Bank)
Data on energy and mining industries compiled by the World Bank.
- Energy statistics yearbook (U.N.)
The Energy Statistics Yearbook is a series of annual compilations of internationally comparable statistics summarizing world energy trends. Annual data for 224 countries and areas are presented on production, trade and consumption of energy for solid, liquid, and gaseous fuels, electricity, and heat. Per capita consumption series are also provided for all energy products. Special tables of interest include: international trade tables for coal, crude petroleum and natural gas by partner countries; selected series of statistics on renewables and wastes; refinery distillation capacity; and a table on selected energy resources.
- Global Energy Statistical Yearbook
A free online interactive data tool; it allows the user to browse data through intuitive maps and graphs, for a visual analysis of the latest trends in the energy industry.
Access to statistics:
- on production, consumption and trade of oil, gas, coal, power and renewables;
- on CO2 emissions from fuel combustion;
- covering 60 countries and regions throughout the world;
- International Energy Agency
"The Energy Statistics Division (ESD) of the IEA collects, processes and publishes data and information on energy production, trade, stocks, transformation, consumption, prices and taxes as well as on greenhouse gas emissions. The geographical coverage of the IEA's statistics includes the 30 OECD Member countries and over 100 non-OECD countries world-wide."
- International Energy Statistics - Data.gov
Country specific data by year, month and quarter. Most data are available back to 1980. Fuel production, consumption, imports, exports, capacity, stocks, emissions, heat contents, and conversion factors; as well as population, as available for all fuels and countries.
- Retail Gasoline Prices, Regular Grade (U.S.)
- World crude oil price index
Crude Oil (petroleum) price index, 2005 = 100, simple average of three spot prices; Dated Brent, West Texas Intermediate, and the Dubai Fateh. Actual monthly price data (along with prices for coal, natural gas, and non-fuel commodities)) are part of this commodity price spreadsheet from the IMF (note: clicking the commodity price spreadsheet link opens an Excel spreadsheet that automatically downloads).
- World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the World Bank's annual compilation of data about development. WDI covers a wide range of topics, including energy production and use.
