Data & Statistics: Food & agriculture

Last updated 2023.04.27

• Agricultural Market Access Database (OECD)
  Provides a common data set on tariffs, TRQs and imports, as well as the tools for researchers, policymakers, and others to use in analyzing levels of tariff protection in agriculture among WTO Members.The database includes mainly raw data on market access commitments and trade, as found in WTO members' commitments and in national publications, at the level of detail and disaggregation found in the original sources. Additional reference data are included to enable calculation of derived data such as ad valorem equivalents, or tariff aggregates for product or commodity categories.
• Agriculture in the European Union and the Member States - Statistical factsheets
  The statistical factsheets present the main economic and agricultural data for each country and the European Union: key data, population and economy, CAP expenditure and distribution of direct aids, agricultural input, output and income, agricultural labour input, agricultural prices, agricultural trade and farm structure.
• Census of Agriculture (U.S.)
  The Census of Agriculture is a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. Even small plots of land - whether rural or urban - growing fruit, vegetables or some food animals count if $1,000 or more of such products were raised and sold, or normally would have been sold, during the Census year. It also looks at land use and ownership, operator characteristics, production practices, income and expenditures.
• FAOSTAT (United Nations)
  Provides access to food and agriculture statistics (including crop, livestock, and forestry subsectors) for over 245 countries and territories, and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent years available.
  • other FAO statistical databases
    Agro-MAPS, AQUASTAT, CountrySTAT, FAOSTAT-Agriculture, FAOSTAT-Fisheries, FAOSTAT-Forestry, Fishery and Aquaculture Statistics, Forestry Country Profiles, Global Livestock Production and Health Atlas (GLiPHA)
• Fisheries (OECD)
  Includes data on marine capture and aquaculture.
• Food waste (OECD)
  The OECD food waste dataset is a compilation of available data related to food loss and food waste for 32 countries. The period covered may vary across different countries depending on data availability (globally ranging from 1993 to 2013). Note: clicking on this link automatically downloads a .zip file.
• Food Security and Nutrition Guide (U.N.)
  Provides a platform for available, UN and non-UN resources on Food Security, Nutrition and related topics.
• Food security portal (IFPRI)
  A product of the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), the site contains over 40 indicators related to food security, commodity prices, economics, and human well-being. Much of this data is available for every country in the world and goes back over 50 years. Data are drawn from public, authoritative data sources like World Bank, FAO, UNICEF, and others, as well as IFPRI's own data.
• National Agricultural Statistics Service (U.S.)
  Conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture (e.g., production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers, etc.).
• OECD Agriculture Statistics
  A unique collection of agricultural statistics that provide a framework for quantifying and analysing the agricultural economy. This includes forecasts regarding the evolution of the main agricultural markets and commodities, detailed estimates of policy support, as well as indicators of environmental performance of agriculture. Data concern both OECD countries and non-member economies.
• UN Comtrade
  Free access to detailed global trade data, including food-related commodities. UN Comtrade is a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables.
• Food composition databases (via LanguaL™)

​​​​​​​