Skip to Main Content
Recent Statistics Canada releases on information and communications technology
Sources
Last updated 2022.04.07
- Statistic Canada's digital economy and society statistics portal
Statistic Canada's one-stop shop to find data, tools, and reports from the government on the latest information on digital economy and society statistics.
- Canada: Internet usage, broadband and telecommunications reports
Internet World Stats features up to date world Internet Usage, Population Statistics, Social Media Stats and Internet Market Research Data, for over 243 individual countries and world regions. It is a useful source for country and regional stats, international online market research, the latest Internet statistics, world Internet penetration data, world population statistics, telecommunications information reports, and Facebook Stats by country.
- Canada's internet factbook (Canadian Internet Registration Authority)
Developed through an online survey conducted by The Strategic Counsel. A total of n=2,050 adult Canadian internet users (18+) were surveyed in March 2019, and the sample is proportionate-to-population for age, province and gender. Additional data was taken from the M-Lab and global domain industry statistics from Zook, CENTR and ntldstats.com.
- Canadian Internet Use Survey (CIUS; 2005-present)
Household Internet Use Survey (HIUS; 1997-2003)
Provides information about the extent to which individual Canadians use the Internet, as well as the scope of their Internet use. The survey content includes the location of use (e.g., at home or at work), the frequency and intensity of use, the specific uses of the Internet from the home, the purchase of products and services (electronic commerce), and other issues related to Internet use (such as concerns over privacy). This content is supplemented by information on socio-economic characteristics (e.g., age, income and education) and some sub-provincial geographic detail.
- Data tables on business and government Internet use (Statistics Canada)
- Data tables on individual and household Internet use (Statistics Canada)
- Ecommerce in Canada: 2019 Statistics, Insights and Infographic (Canadian's Internet Business)
- Canadian social media usage statistics (Canadian's Internet Business)
- General Social Survey cycle 14 (2000)
GSS Cycle 14 surveyed individual Canadians about their use of computers and the Internet, the impact of technology on privacy, access to information, and the social cohesion of families and communities. Topics include general use of technology and computers, technology in the workplace, development of computer skills, frequency of Internet and E-mail use, non-users and security and information on the Internet. This is the first time that Statistics Canada has collected detailed information on the individual use of technology.
- Internet usage in Canada - Statistics & Facts (Statista)
Provides a variety of reports, tables, and charts regarding internet usage in Canada.
Last updated 2022.04.07
- Internet Domain Survey The Domain Survey attempts to discover every host on the Internet by doing a complete search of the Domain Name System. Includes historical data on numbers of hosts worldwide.
- Internet Live Stats
- Internet Stats & Facts
2019
Although primarily concerned with evaluating web hosting providers, Hostingfacts.com also produces this page, listing a variety internet statistics (e.g., number of users, domain names, e-commerce); most importantly, they provide for each source they consult in preparing the above statistics, so that interested parties can get additional details from each one.
- Internet Usage Worldwide - Statistics & Facts (Statista)
Provides statistics, facts and market data related to internet. This includes information on segments and industries such as social media, online search, user-generated content, online advertising and marketing as well as statistics on demographics and use.
- Internet World Stats
An International website that features up to date world Internet Usage, Population Statistics, Social Media Stats and Internet Market Research Data, for over 243 individual countries and world regions.
- Net Data Directory
A free, publicly accessible database of information on different sources of data about the Internet. The directory is intended to make finding helpful quantitative data about a broad range of Internet-related topics—broadband, cybersecurity, freedom of expression, and more—easier for researchers, policymakers, journalists, and the public. Users can search, sort, and filter records within this database to identify datasets relevant to their work. The vast majority of datasets within the directory are themselves open and publicly available. Records in the directory include the name of the data source, a short description of the available data, and a link. Data sources are tagged both by geographic coverage (including global, regional, and country-level tags) and by topic (such as broadband, cybersecurity, and social media).
