Canada Survey of Giving, Volunteering and Participating(Statistics Canada)
The purpose of the survey is to ask Canadians 15 years of age and over about the ways in which they support one another and their communities through their involvement in giving, volunteering and participating. Formerly know as the National Survey of Giving, Volunteering and Participating.
Canadian social trends(Statistics Canada)
"This publication discusses the social, economic, and demographic changes affecting the lives of Canadians. It contains the latest figures for major social indicators." See also Insights on Canadian Society
online -- Winter 1998 - 2012
print -- Summer 1986 - 2012; call number CAN1 CS8.5 11-008 in Scott Library and Frost Library
General social surveys(Statistics Canada)
The GSS has two principal objectives: to gather data with a degree of regularity on social trends in order to monitor changes in Canadian society over time; to provide information on specific policy issues of current or emerging interest.
Insights on Canadian Society(Statistics Canada)
This publication brings together and analyzes a wide range of data sources in order to provide information on various aspects of Canadian society, including labour, income, education, social, and demographic issues, that affect the lives of Canadians.
Summary of charitable donors(Statistics Canada)
Data tables on Canadians' contributions to charitable organizations. These data include only amounts given to charities and approved organizations for which official tax receipts were provided and claimed on tax returns. Data are available from 1997 to the present.
Volunteering and charitable giving in Canada
"This report uses data from the 2013 General Social Survey (GSS) on Giving, Volunteering and Participating to profile volunteering and giving in Canada. The first section presents information about individuals who volunteered in 2013, their characteristics and the number of hours they provided. Changes in both volunteer rates and hours, as well as in the age profile of volunteers, are also discussed. The second section focuses on charitable giving, including changes in donation rates and in the amounts given by Canadians of all ages."
Volunteering in Canada, 2004 to 2013
&quiot;This report provides a profile of volunteerism in Canada, examining trends in volunteer rates and hours volunteered, the characteristics of volunteers, the sectors benefiting from volunteering, volunteer activities, and motivations for and barriers to volunteering. Also discussed are patterns in informal volunteering, defined here as acts helping people directly, whether it is family, friends or neighbours."
Last updated 2022.04.11
Adherents.com
"A collection of over 45,000 adherent statistics and religious geography citations -- references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc."
American Religion Data Archive
The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA.
Gun deaths since Newtown
Slate magazine hosts an interactive, crowdsourced tally of the toll firearms have taken from Dec. 14, 2012 to Dec 13, 2013. Data can be arranged by age group, gender, location and date; the entire dataset is available for download.
Gun violence archive
Gun Violence Archive (GVA) is a not for profit corporation formed in 2013 to provide free online public access to accurate information about gun-related violence in the United States. GVA will collect and check for accuracy, comprehensive information about gun-related violence in the U.S. and then post and disseminate it online. The full dataset can be obtained by request.
Poverty & Equity Database(World Bank)
Allows you to explore data and indicators based on different poverty lines.
Social indicators (United Nations)
Statistics on population, youth and elderly populations, human settlements, water supply and sanitation, housing, health, child-bearing, education, literacy, unemployment, income and economic activity.
Social issues: key tables from the OECD
The key tables on social issues comprise public and private spending. These include social, old age, health and unemployment spending. Historical data refer to the latest eight time periods.
World Development Indicators
This is the World Bank's annual compilation of data about development. WDI includes over 1200 indicators covering a wide range of development-related topics.
World Happiness Report( 2012 / 2013 / 2015 / 2016 / 2017 )
" ... a landmark survey of the state of global happiness. ... Leading experts across fields – economics, psychology, survey analysis, national statistics, health, public policy and more – describe how measurements of well-being can be used effectively to assess the progress of nations. The reports review the state of happiness in the world today and show how the new science of happiness explains personal and national variations in happiness. They reflect a new worldwide demand for more attention to happiness as a criteria for government policy."
