Data & Statistics: Immigration & migration

Last updated 2022.04.07

• Asylum and managed migration data (Eurostat)
  • Asylum: The tables presented in the Asylum domain cover the following variables: asylum applicants, persons being subject of pending asylum application, asylum applications withdrawn, first instance and final decisions on applications (grants of refugee status, subsidiary protection status and humanitarian status, rejections), resettlement.
  • Dublin statistics: data on the implementation of the Dublin regulation which establishes the criteria and mechanisms for determining the Member State responsible for examining an application for international protection. Member States provide data on taking back or taking charge of persons subject to Dublin procedure. Collected statistics cover the number of requests, re-examination requests, acceptances, refusals and persons transferred.
  • Residence permits: The tables presented in the residence permit domain cover the following variables: first permits granted to non-EU citizens by reasons, grants of change of immigration status or reason to stay permits, stock of all valid residence permits, and stock of long-term residents.
  • Enforcement of immigration legislation (EIL) statistics: The tables presented in the EIL domain cover: non-EU citizens refused entry at the EU external borders, apprehension of persons found to be illegally present at the territory of the EU Member State, obligations to leave the territory of the Member State, and removals of non-EU citizens whose presence was unauthorised.
  • Children in migration statistics: this section gathers statistics on third-country nationals less than 18 years old coming from the four aforementioned areas. Statistics presented in this section cover: asylum and first time asylum applicants, first instance and final decisions on applications, resettlement, residence permits, and enforcement of immigration legislation statistics.
• Global Bilateral Migration Database (World Bank)
  Global matrices of bilateral migrant stocks spanning the period 1960-2000, disaggregated by gender and based primarily on the foreign-born concept are presented. Over one thousand census and population register records are combined to construct decennial matrices corresponding to the last five completed census rounds.For the first time, a comprehensive picture of bilateral global migration over the last half of the twentieth century emerges. T
• Global Detention Project (GDP)
  The Global Detention Project (GDP) is a nonprofit research centre based in Geneva, Switzerland, that investigates the use of immigration-related detention as a response to global migration. It aims to provide ... a source of accurate information and analysis about detention and other immigration control regimes, with a particular focus on the impact these policies have on the health, human rights, and well being of undocumented migrants, asylum seekers, and refugees. It also aims to develop and maintain a measurable and regularly updated database on national detention regimes that can be used to assess the evolution of detention practices and serve as a framework for comparative analysis. The statistics are embedded in the various reports and other publications available on the site.
• Immigration data & statistics (United States)
  The Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS) has responsibility to carry out two statutory requirements: 1) to collect and disseminate to Congress and the public data and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws; and 2) to establish standards of reliability and validity for immigration statistics collected by the Department's operational Components.
• International migration report (United Nations)
  This report analyzes global and regional levels and trends in international migration, based on the latest estimates and projections prepared by the Population Division.
• International Migration Statistics (OECD)
  The database contains data on foreign and foreign-born population, migration flows, naturalisations and labour market outcomes.
• Migration/Geographic Mobility (U.S.)
  Historical and detailed tables on Geographical Mobility, a collection of national- and regional-level tables from the Annual Social and Economic Supplement of the Current Population Survey. These detailed tables describe the movement of people in the United States, including type of move, reason for moving and selected characteristics of those who moved within the last year. The historical tables incorporate data from as far back as 1948.
• Migration integration (Eurostat)
  Provides indicators have been identified in the following policy areas: employment, education, social inclusion, and active citizenship.
• Migration Policy Institute
  The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide. Their Data Hub showcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the United States; as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and beyond.
• Migration & Remittances Data (World Bank)
  Tables and datasets on migration, remittances, and the Migration and Remittances Factbook 2016, which provides a snapshot of migration and remittances for all countries, regions and income groups of the world.
• Missing Migrants Project
  Publications and infographics on migrant fatalities worldwide.
• Origins and Destinations of the World’s Migrants, from 1990-2017 (Pew Research Center)
  This interactive is based on international migrant data published by the United Nations. The United Nations uses a taxonomy of nations and territories and classifies migrants born in territories as international migrants, even if their citizenship is different from their territory of birth. For this reason, some UN estimates of the foreign-born population shown here may differ from other estimates published by the U.S. Census Bureau or Pew Research Center. Data for individual countries are based on the UN’s list of countries in 2015, even if some of these countries did not exist or had different boundaries in earlier years. The figures in this interactive feature refer to the total number (or cumulative “stocks”) of migrants living around the world as of 1990, 2000, 2010 or 2015 rather than to the annual rate of migration (or current “flows”) in a given year. Since migrants have both an origin and a destination, international migrants can be viewed from two directions – as an emigrant (leaving an origin country) or as an immigrant (entering a destination country).
• United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR) -- data
  Provides data, reports, maps and other information essential for field operations. It also carries statistical reports on the people of concern to UNHCR: refugees, asylum-seekers, returned refugees, the internally displaced and stateless people. Detailed information on country of asylum, place of origin, gender, age, location and legal status of refugees is available. Indicators on the quality of refugee protection and UNHCR operations are increasingly being collected.