Data & Statistics: Population, demographic & vital statistics

Last updated 2022.04.07

• Statistics Canada's Population and Demography Statistics Portal
  Statistic Canada's one-stop shop to find data, tools, and reports from the government on the latest information on labur and employment data and statistics.
• Aboriginal Demography - Population, Household and Family Projections 2001-2026 (Indian & Northern Affairs Canada). Note: Aboriginal refers to First Nation peoples, Métis, and Inuit.
• Annual Demographic Estimates: Subprovincial areas
  This publication presents annual estimates of population for census metropolitan areas, economic regions and census divisions of Canada as well as estimates of the following components of population change: births, deaths, immigration, emigration, returning emigration, net temporary emigration, net non-permanent residents and inter-provincial and intra-provincial migration. The estimates are based on the 2001 Census results, which have been adjusted for net census under coverage. This publication contains the most recent five (5) years estimates. It also contains highlights and analysis of the most current demographic trends, and a description of the concepts, methods and data quality of the estimates.
• Canadian Human Mortality Database (CHMD)
  The Canadian Human Mortality Database (CHMD) was created to provide detailed Canadian mortality and population data to researchers, students, journalists, policy analysts, and others interested in the history of human longevity. The CHMD is a "satellite" of the Human Mortality Database (HMD), an international database which currently holds detailed data for 37 countries or regions. The CHMD gathers all required data (deaths counts, births counts, population size, exposure-to-risk, death rates) to compute life tables for Canada, its provinces and its territories. One of the great advantages of the database is to include data that is validated and corrected, when required, and rendered comparable, if possible, for the period ranging from 1921 thru 2006.
• Census of Canada (Statistics Canada)
• Census profiles ( 1996 / 2001 / 2006 / 2011 / 2016 / 2021)
  This site contains information from the Census of Population conducted by Statistics Canada, since 1996. A statistical profile is presented for all Canadian communities (cities, towns, villages, Indian Reserves and Settlements, etc.) highlighting information on education, income and work, families and dwellings, as well as general population information (as it becomes available). A mapping feature is available for viewing the location of a community within Canada.
• Deaths
  These statistical tables present the numbers of deaths and death rates by marital status, age and sex for Canada, the 10 provinces and 3 territories. Also presented are data on infant, neonatal, post-neonatal and perinatal deaths; deaths in hospital; and deaths subject to autopsy.
• Ethnic Diversity Survey
  This survey was conducted jointly by Statistics Canada and the Department of Canadian Heritage. Topics covered in the survey include ethnic ancestry, ethnic identity, place of birth, visible minority status, religion, religious participation, knowledge of languages, family background, family interaction, social networks, civic participation, interaction with society, attitudes, satisfaction with life, trust and socio-economic activities. The Ethnic Diversity Survey (EDS) was a post-2001 census survey which included about 42,500 people aged 15 and over.
  • Public-use microdata file via <odesi>
  • Ethnic Diversity Survey: Portrait of a Multicultural Society (89-593-X)
• Historical statistics of Canada (Statistics Canada, 2nd edition, 1983)
  Contains about 1,088 statistical tables on the social, economic and institutional conditions of Canada from the start of the Confederation in 1867 to the mid-1970s.
  Print versions: HA 746 U7 1983, CAN1 CS8.5 11-516.
• Population projections for Canada, provinces and territories (Statistics Canada)
  This report presents the results of six population projection scenarios by age group and sex up to 2036 for the provinces and territories and up to 2061 for Canada. Using the July 1, 2009 population estimate as the starting point, these projections are based on assumptions that take into account the most recent trends relating to components of population growth, particularly fertility, mortality, immigration, emigration and interprovincial migration.
• Projections of the Indigenous populations and households in Canada, 2016 to 2041: Overview of data sources, methods, assumptions and scenarios (2021)
• Quarterly Demographic Estimates
  This publication presents quarterly estimates of population for Canada, provinces and territories as well as statistics on the following components of population change: births, deaths, immigration, emigration, returning emigration, net temporary emigration, net non-permanent residents and interprovincial migration, the latter by origin and destination. The publication contains the most recent estimates as well as a quarterly postcensal historical series. This publication also contains highlights, an analysis of the most current demographic trends, and a brief description of the methods used to generate the estimates.
• Report on the Demographic Situation in Canada
  Presents an analysis of the demographic situation in Canada at the national, provincial and sub-provincial levels. Trends in population growth, aging, marriage and divorce, and the evolution of the various components of Canada's population growth - fertility, mortality, immigration and internal migrations - are presented, analyzed and discussed. In-depth articles on current issues related to the Canadian population are also featured.
• Toronto Neighbourhoods & Communities
• Provides access to profiles of Neighbourhoods, wards, community council areas, neighbourhood improvement areas, as well as the Toronto Social Atlas and Wellbeing Toronto
• Toronto’s Economy, Labour Force & Demographics
  Includes ward, community council and neighbourhood profiles and provides key information on the social and economic fabric of the City. Population density, population change, visible minorities, household income and low income and other key demographic indic
• Vital Statistics - Birth Database
  This is an administrative survey that collects demographic information annually from all provincial and territorial vital statistics registries on all live births in Canada.
• Vital Statistics - Death Database
  This is an administrative survey that collects demographic and medical (cause of death) information annually from all provincial and territorial vital statistics registries on all deaths in Canada.
• Vital Statistics - Stillbirth Database
  This is an administrative survey that collects demographic information annually from all provincial and territorial vital statistics registries on all stillbirths (fetal deaths) in Canada.