Data & Statistics: Finance & economics

Last updated 2023.04.27

• Africa Development Indicators (ADI)
  ADI is the most detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators.
• Bank for International Settlements (BIS)
  The statistics published by the BIS are a unique source of information about the structure of and activity in the global financial system. They are compiled in cooperation with central banks and other national authorities and are designed to inform analysis of financial stability, international monetary spillovers and global liquidity. Some BIS statistics, in particular those on international banking, securities markets and derivatives activity, are part of special collections under the auspices of BIS-hosted committees of central banks. Other BIS statistics draw on national data but incorporate assumptions and estimations by BIS statisticians to construct specific measures, such as global liquidity indicators, aggregate credit figures, debt service ratios and effective exchange rates.
• Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S.)
  BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public. BEA's economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy, are key ingredients in critical decisions affecting monetary policy, tax and budget projections, and business investment plans. The cornerstone of BEA's statistics is the national income and product accounts (NIPAs), which feature the estimates of gross domestic product (GDP) and related measures.
• CRSP
  "The most comprehensive and accurate databases of standard and derived historical data for NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ common stocks." This database provides acces to NYSE/AMEX/NASDAQ Daily and Monthly Security Prices and other historical data (some back to 1925) related to over 20,000 companies.
• Datastream (link to research guide only)
  Provides daily pricing and volume information on over 37,000 equities from 57 countries, 12,000 market, stock and bond indices, and 87,000 macroeconomic series from central statistical offices such as Statistics Canada, and sources such as International Financial Statistics and selected OECD series. Also included are over 2,000 daily foreign exchange rates, 1,000 daily and weekly interest rate series, 68,000 fixed income instruments from 23 countries and more than 260 financial and commodity futures and options contracts.
  Access restrictions: Restricted to the York University community and available in the Bronfman Library only.
• Economic Census (United States)
  "The Economic Census provides a detailed portrait of the Nation's economy once every five years, from the national to the local level, and covers nearly all of the U.S. economy in its basic collection of establishment statistics. There also are several related programs, including statistics on minority- and women-owned businesses. Censuses of agriculture and governments are conducted at the same time."
• Economic indicators (US Census Bureau)
  Provides the latest data (plus links to historical time series) on:
  • Construction Spending,
  • Durable Goods New Orders,
  • Homeownership,
  • Housing Starts,
  • Manufacturers Shipments,
  • Inventories, Orders,
  • Monthly Retail Sales,
  • Monthly Wholesale Trade
  • New Home Sales
  • Quarterly Services Survey
  • Retail Profits
  • Total Business Sales
  • Trade Balance
• Eurostat: Economy and finance
  Data on national accounts, prices and purchasing power parities, such as statistics on currency and the finance sector.
• International Monetary Fund Data
  The IMF Data Portal provides for greater data visualization and statistical tools. The suite of tools offered by the platform is extensive and strengthens the narrative and analysis of data and allows users to customize their data experience. Data topics are divided into four sectors--External Sector, Financial Sector, Fiscal Sector, Real Sector. Datasets are organized by economic sectors. A complete list of available datasets is available.
• Global Competitiveness Report (World Economic Forum)
  "Featuring the Global Competitiveness Index, the Report assesses the competitiveness landscape of 138 economies, providing unique insight into the drivers of their productivity and prosperity." Contains rankings, country/economy reports, and downloadable datasets.
• Global Economic Monitor (GEM)
  Daily updates of global economic developments for high income and developing countries - covers exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, and emerging market bond indices. Monthly data coverage (updated daily and populated upon availability) is provided for consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade.
• Global Innovation Index
  This WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization) publication ranks the innovation performance of 128 countries and economies around the world, based on 82 indicators. Each annual issue has a different focus:
  • 2019: Creating Healthy Lives -- The Future of Medical Innovation
  • 2018: Energizing the World with Innovation
  • 2017: Innovation Feeding the World
  • 2016: Winning with Global Innovation
  • 2015: Effective Innovation Policies for Development
  • 2014: The Human Factor in Innovation
  • 2013: The Local Dynamics of Innovation
  • 2012: Stronger Innovation Linkages for Global Growth
  • 2011: Accelerating Growth and Development
• Global Insight Data Browser (once on the Global Insight web site, click on the Economics tab in the upper left)
  This database provides access to millions of time series from numerous Global Insight databanks covering economic, financial, and demographic statistics. Geographic coverage, date range, and periodicity vary by series and databank with some series dating back to the 1920s.
• Government Finance Statistics (GFS)
  The GFS portal contains detailed data on revenue, expense, transactions in assets and liabilities, and stocks positions in assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors. Data can be downloaded.
• International Financial Statistics (IFS)
  Covers about 200 countries and areas, with some aggregates calculated for selected regions, plus some world totals. Topics covered include: balance of payments, commodity prices, exchange rates fund position, government finance, industrial production, interest rates, international investment position, international liquidity, international transactions, labour statistics, money and banking, national accounts, population, prices, and real effective exchange rates.
• OECD iLibrary
  OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA) [NOTE: IEA databases not available to York users.], Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
• Penn World Table
  The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2017.
• World Development Indicators
  World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.