Skip to Main Content
Sources
Last updated 2022.04.13
- Assessing violence against women: a statistical profile (2002)
"This report presents the results of a project commissioned by Federal-Provincial-Territorial Ministers Responsible for the Status of Women. It is intended that a wide range of audiences will find this statistical profile useful in maintaining awareness of the need to prevent violence in our society." (PDF). An updated version can be found in Measuring Violence Against Women: Statistical Trends which updates the data and adds new content concerning the experiences of Aboriginal women and women in the North."
- Gender & Work Database
"The statistical tables on this site enable researchers to focus in-depth on the level and form of women's and men's position, in a given institution of interest, such as immigration, or in relation to a dominant concept or thesis. Within each module researchers are also able to examine the relationship between key variables that represent social relationships. The database can thus be used to obtain basic information on a topic (e.g., women's labour force participation rate for a given year) or to examine a variety of complex social relations (e.g., gendered precariousness). The statistical tables are displayed in Beyond 20/20 format, enabling users to interact with and manipulate the data presentation as desired." To access the data tables on this site, contact the GWD project.
- Gender, diversity and inclusion statistics
A focal point for data produced by Statistics Canada's Centre for Gender, Diversity and Inclusion Statistics. Includes links to information on gender in the international context.
- Violence against women survey (1993)
The survey collected data on perceptions of personal safety and measures taken to reduce risk of violent victimization; sexual harassment; experiences of physical and sexual assault by strangers, dates/boyfriends, husbands and common-law partners, and other known men; power/control and emotional abuse by husbands/partners; spouse abuse in family of origin; the impact of the experience on women who report violence; who they turn to for help; and, involvement and satisfaction with the criminal justice system.
- Widowhood: Consequences on Income for Senior Women
"This article analyses the impact of widowhood on income, as well as changes in the low-income rate and the sources of income, among women 65 years of age and over, between 1990 and 2001, using data from Statistics Canada's Longitudinal Administrative Databank (LAD)."
- Women in Canada: A Gender-based Statistical Report (Statistics Canada)
" Women in Canada provides an unparalleled compilation of data related to women's family status, education, employment, economic well-being, unpaid work, health, and more. Women in Canada allows readers to better understand the experience of women compared to that of men. Recognizing that women are not a homogenous group and that experiences differ not only across gender but also within gender groups, Women in Canada includes chapters on immigrant women, women in a visible minority, Aboriginal women, senior women, and women with participation and activity limitations."
Last updated 2022.04.13
- Gender Data Portal (World Bank)
"The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency. "
- Global Gender Gap Report (World Economic Forum)
This series of reports attempts to quantify the magnitude of gender disparities and tracks their progress over time, with a specific focus on the relative gaps between women and men across four key areas: health, education, economy and politics.
2006 / 2007 / 2008 / 2009 / 2010 / 2011 / 2012 / 2013 / 2014 / 2015 / 2016 / 2017
- Little Data Book on Gender (World Bank)
... a quick reference for users interested in gender statistics. The book presents gender-disaggregated data for more than 200 economies in an easy country-by-country reference on demography, education, health, labor force, political participation and the Millennium Development Goals. The book’s summary pages cover regional and income group aggregates.
- Minimum set of gender indicators (UN)
The Inter-agency and Expert Group on Gender Statistics through its Advisory Group on Global Gender Statistics and Indicators Database, including experts from national statistical systems and international agencies, identified a minimum set of gender indicators composed of 52 quantitative indicators grouped into three tiers and 11 qualitative indicators covering national norms and laws on gender equality. The eleven indicators on national norms monitor how national legislation works toward ensuring gender equality in various areas.
- Quick Health Data Online (US Office on Women's Health)
"The system provides state- and county-level data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and US territories and possessions. Data are available by gender, race and ethnicity and come from a variety of national and state sources. The system is organized into eleven main categories, including demographics, mortality, natality, reproductive health, violence, prevention, disease and mental health. Within each main category, there are numerous subcategories."
- Violence Against Women Resource Guide
"This Violence Against Women (VAW) Resource Guide was designed by the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) staff to provide easy access to data collections on the topic of violence against women, such as Quick Links to certain types of VAW studies and links to studies available for online data analysis. This resource guide also provides useful information for the secondary analysis of these data collections, such as customized help pages for complex data collections, information about how to obtain restricted access data, and links to funding opportunities and publications."
- The world's women: trends and statistics (U.N.)
The World's Women reports are prepared by the Statistics Division of the UN Department for Economic and Social Affairs (UN DESA) at five-year intervals, starting in 1990. Five reports have been published as part of the The World's Women series. The first three and the last issue, World's Women 2010, analyze women's situation compared to men's worldwide on a broad range of fields. The 2005 edition reviews and analyzes national capacity to collect and report sex-disaggregated data on socioeconomic topics relevant for addressing gender concerns. Reports are also available for 1970-1990, 1990, 1995, 2000, 2005, 2010.
