Skip to Main Content
Sources
Last updated 2022.04.06
- Statistics Canada's housing statistics portal
Statistic Canada's one-stop shop to find data, tools, and reports from the government on the latest information on housing statistics.
- Affordable housing in Toronto: open data (City of Toronto)
All datasets within the topic and civic issue of "affordable housing" within the City of Toronto's Open Data Catalogue.
- Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation: statistics and data
Rental markets, housing markets, household characteristics and funding and securitization.
- Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation: selected publications
- Census data on housing -- 2021 / 2016 / 2006 / 2001
- Canadian Housing Survey
"Provides information on core housing need, dwelling characteristics and housing tenure, perceptions on economic hardship from housing costs, dwelling and neighbourhood satisfaction, housing moves and intentions to move, community engagement, life and community satisfaction and socio-demographic characteristics."
- Data tables on housing (Statistics Canada)
- Hidden homelessness in Canada
"This study provides information on the number of Canadians who reported that they ever had to temporarily live with family, friends, in their car, or anywhere else because they had nowhere else to live—a situation referred to as ‘hidden’ or ‘concealed’ homelessness. It also examines the characteristics of those who had experienced hidden homelessness at some point in their life." (Insights on Canadian Society 2016.11.15)
- Housing and Homelessness: research and reports (City of Toronto)
Major staff reports and current research on homelessness trends and service use.
- Real Estate Market Statistics (Toronto Region Real Estate Board)
Reports, charts, and tables about the real-estate market in the Toronto region.
Last updated 2022.04.06
- American Housing Survey
The American Housing Survey (AHS) provides current information on a wide range of housing subjects, including size and composition of the nation's housing inventory, vacancies, physical condition of housing units, characteristics of occupants, indicators of housing and neighborhood quality, mortgages and other housing costs, persons eligible for and beneficiaries of assisted housing, home values, and characteristics of recent movers.
- Demographic and Social Statistics: Housing (United Nations)
The United Nations Statistics Division is responsible for collecting official national statistics on housing stock and housing conditions generated from population and housing censuses.
- European Mortgage Federation Hypostat
EMF-Hypostat is an annual statistical publication encompassing data on recent developments in housing and mortgage markets in Europe and beyond. The publication covers 38 countries -- i.e. the EU 28 together with the following countries: Australia, Brazil, Iceland, Japan, Norway, Russia, South Korea, Singapore, South Korea, Turkey, United States.
- Global housing watch (IMF)
The Global Housing Watch tracks developments in housing markets across the world on a quarterly basis. It provides current data on house prices as well as metrics used to assess valuation in housing markets, such as house price-to-rent and house-price‑to‑income ratios.
- Housing topics (US Census Bureau)
The Census Bureau's housing data present a comprehensive picture of housing in America ... a wide range of data on the size, age and type of American homes; home values, rents and mortgages, the housing and construction industry, and more.
- How Many People Experience Homelessness?
This fact sheet describes definitions of homelessness, methodologies for counting homeless people, recent estimates of homelessness, and estimates of the increase in homelessness over the past two decades. Additional resources for further study are also provided.(Article by the National Coalition for the Homeless, published July 2009)
- National Association of Home Builders: Housing Economics
NAHB produces in-depth economic analyses of the home building industry based on private and government data. They survey builders, home buyers, and renters to gain insight into the issues and trends driving the industry.
- OECD Affordable Housing Database
This database contains affordable housing data and statistics of OECD countries. The database groups indicators along three dimensions: housing market, housing conditions and affordability, and public policies towards affordable housing. Each indicator presents data, relevant definitions and methodology, and key results.
- Residential property price statistics (Bank for International Settlements)
These statistics track developments in residential property prices (RPP) and commercial property prices (CPP) across the world via three data sets - detailed residential, selected residential and commercial.
