Data & Statistics: Labour & employment

Last updated 2022.04.07

• Statistics Canada's Labour and Employment statistics portal
  Statistic Canada's one-stop shop to find data, tools, and reports from the government on the latest information on labour and employment data and statistics.
• Data tables on labour ( Statistics Canada)
  The labour market activities of the Canadian population, including: how many people are employed or unemployed; the unemployment rate; which industries or occupations people work in; the hours they work; commuting patterns; wage and non-wage benefits; job training; labour mobility; work absences; unionization; unpaid work; and other topics. Also includes geographic and demographic characteristics.
• Minimum Wage Database (HRSDC)
  Contains data for federal and provincial jurisdictions. Available in ten-year ranges (1965-1974, 1975-1984, 1985-1994, 1995-2004, 2005-2014, 2015-2024) in addition to current and forthcoming rates for adult and young workers. See also "The ups and downs of minimum wage"
• Employment, Earnings and Hours (1990-2012)
  "This publication presents a timely picture of employment, earnings and hours which is vital to Canada's businesses and governments for planning and decision-making purposes. The tabulations focus on monthly labour market information and historical data series. The major economic variables for over 280 industries are provided at the national and provincial/territorial level. The publication also includes a succinct monthly highlights section, and notes on the concepts and methodology of the survey." NOTE: this publication has been discontinued by Statistics Canada; the data are now available in online data tables
• Employment patterns of families with children
  This paper examines the employment patterns of families with children (under the age of 16) over the period from 1976 to 2014, with a particular focus on couple families with children. This article also highlights regional differences in the working patterns of parents and provides additional information on the employment patterns of lone parents.
• General Social Surveys
  Several of these have had a work-related focus:
  • Cycle 4 (1989): Education and Work
  • Cycle 7 (1992): Time Use culture, sport and unpaid work activities
  • Cycle 9 (1994): Education, Work and Retirement
  • Cycle 19 (2005): Time use, unpaid work activities, cultural activities, social networks and participation in sports.
• Job Vacancy Statistics (Statistics Canada)
  Data tables on labour demand and job vacancy rate, and unemployed and unemployment-to-job vacancies ratio by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
• Labour Force Historical Review (1976-2010; Statistics Canada)
  Includes: Activity prior to unemployment, Census metropolitan areas, Class of worker, public and private sector, Days lost from work, Detailed age, Duration of unemployment, Economic region, Education, Employment insurance region, Establishment size, Family, Hirings, Hours lost from work, Hours worked, Industry, Job tenure, Marital status, Multiple jobholders, Non-census metropolitan area, Occupation, Overtime, Reason for leaving last job, Reason for not looking, Reason for part-time work, Retirement age, Rural and urban areas, Seasonally adjusted, Students, Supplementary unemployment rates, Temporary/permanent, Type of work sought/search method, Union, Wage distributions, Wages. Requires Beyond 2020 5.2 or better.
• Labour Force Information (August 2002 - present)
  This publication provides the most current monthly labour market statistics. Each month, this publication contains a brief commentary highlighting recent developments in the Canadian labour market. It also includes a series of charts and tables on a variety of labour force characteristics, such as employment and unemployment for Canada, the provinces, metropolitan areas and economic regions.
• Labour Force Survey ( Statistics Canada)
  The Labour Force Survey (LFS) is a household survey carried out monthly by Statistics Canada. Data from the survey provide information on major labour market trends such as shifts in employment across industrial sectors, hours worked, labour force participation and unemployment rates. The LFS is the only source of monthly estimates of total employment including the self-employed, full and part-time employment, and unemployment. It publishes monthly standard labour market indicators such as the unemployment rate, the employment rate and the participation rate. The LFS is a major source of information on the personal characteristics of the working-age population, including age, sex, marital status, educational attainment, and family characteristics.
  • Public-use microdata files via <odesi>
  • Latest press release on LFS data
  • LFS documentation
  • Guide to the Labour Force Survey
    This guide contains a dictionary of concepts and definitions and covers topics such as survey methodology, data collection, data processing and data quality. It also contains information on products and services, sub-provincial geography descriptions as well as the survey questionnaire.
• Perspectives on labour and income 1989-2012 (Statistics Canada)
  "... brings together and analyzes a wide range of labour and income data. Each issue presents approximately five articles covering topics such as youth in the labour market, pensions and retirement, work arrangements, education and training, and trends in the family income, to name a few. The publication also devotes sections to new products, surveys, research projects, conferences, and selected data from a database of more than 50 up-to-date labour and income statistical indicators." Continued by Insights on Canadian Society.
  • Print edition (quarterly) available in the Scott Library, call no. CAN1 CS8.5 75-001 (SC-GOV-REF)
• Public Service Employee Survey (Statistics Canada)
  Data are available on the opinions of employees in their work environment, job satisfaction, career movement, equipment needs and special needs.
  • Survey page at Treasury Board of Canada
  • Public-use microdata files via <odesi>
• Standard Occupational Classifications
  Links to information on
  • National Occupational Classification (NOC)
  • National Occupational Classification - Statistics (NOC-S)
  • Standard Occupational Classification (SOC)
  • International Standard Classification of Occupations (ISCO)
• Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics (Statistics Canada)
  The Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics (SLID) supported studies on the economic well-being of individuals and families and on the processes influencing this well-being. It aims to support research on topics such as: income dynamics, namely, movements into and out of poverty and the determinants of income changes experienced by individuals and families; labour market dynamics and life-cycle labour market transitions, such as school-to-work transitions; family dynamics, in particular their relation to economic well-being.
  • Public-use microdata files via <odesi>
• Survey of Self-Employment ( Statistics Canada)
  "The survey was conducted in April 2000 by Statistics Canada on behalf of Human Resources Development Canada (HRDC). It collected data on the socio-demographic characteristics of the self-employed, as well as the hours they work, previous work experience, participation in dental, health and disability plans, income security, and their attitudes towards self-employment. "
  • Public-use microdata file via <odesi>