Business Citation Guide: Company Reports (from Business Databases)

Note: There is no prescribed style for business database reports in the APA Style Manual. The following suggestion has been developed by York's business librarians.

Corporate Author name. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report [Report type]. Name of Library Database. 

Example:

MarketLine. (2021, July 7). Metro Inc [Company Profile report]. MarketLine Advantage.

Example if using more than one report from the same year:

MarketLine. (2021a, July 7). Metro Inc [Company Profile report]. MarketLine Advantage.

MarketLine. (2021b, March 26). Sobeys Inc [Company Profile report]. MarketLine Advantage.

Example:

(MarketLine, 2021, p. 4)

Example if using more than one report from the same year:

(MarketLine, 2021a, p. 4) 

(MarketLine, 2021b, p. 5)

Note: If you download a MarketLine report, you'll be able to see the report's page numbers.

Example:

(MarketLine, 2021)

Example if using more than one report from the same year:

(MarketLine, 2021a) 

(MarketLine, 2021b)

Note: There is no prescribed style for business database reports in the APA Style Manual. The following suggestion has been developed by York's business librarians.

Corporate Author name. (n.d.).Title of report [Report type]. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from Name of Database.

Example:

Mergent. (n.d.). Barrick Gold [Company report]. Retrieved August 29, 2021, from Mergent Online.

Example if using more than one report, table, or dataset:

Mergent. (n.d. -a). Barrick Gold [Company report]. Retrieved August 29, 2021, from Mergent Online.

Mergent. (n.d. -b). Teck Resources [Company report]. Retrieved August 29, 2021, from Mergent Online.

Note: We recommend using n.d. (no date) for Mergent's company report information, as the content is constantly being updated.

Example:

(Mergent, n.d., Long term debt section)

Example if using more than one report, table, or dataset:

(Mergent, n.d. -a, Long term debt section)

(Mergent, n.d. -b, Long term debt section)

Note: There are no page numbers for Mergent reports. Use section headings to pinpoint direct quotations.

Example:

(Mergent, n.d.)

Example if using more than one report, table, or dataset:

(Mergent, n.d. -a)

(Mergent, n.d. -b)

Note: There is no prescribed style for business database reports in the APA Style Manual. The following suggestion has been developed by York's business librarians.

Corporate Author Name. (Year of Publication, Month Day or n.d. if no date available).Title of report [Report type]. Name of Library Database. 

Example:

FactSet Research Systems (2021). Barrick Gold Report [Ratio comparison report]. Factiva.

Note: There are different data and report type providers in the Companies/Markets tab of Factiva. Check the tables, charts, and PDFs for provider names.

(FactSet Research Systems, 2021, Ratio comparison report table)

Example if using more than one report, table, or dataset:

(FactSet Research Systems, 2021a, Ratio comparison report table)

(FactSet Research Systems, 2021b, Ratio comparison report table)

Note: If there are no page numbers for Factiva content, use section / table / graph headings to pinpoint direct quotations. 

(FactSet Research Systems, 2021)

Example if using more than one report, table, or dataset:

(FactSet Research Systems, 2021a)

(FactSet Research Systems, 2021b)

Note: There is no prescribed style for business database reports in the APA Style Manual. The following suggestion has been developed by York's business librarians.

Corporate Author name. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report. Name of Library Database. 

Example:

Bloomberg. (2013). Aerospace and defense dashboard: Commercial aircraft revenue and market share, 2013-2004. Bloomberg Terminal. 

Example if using more than one report, table, or dataset from the same year:

Bloomberg. (2013a). Aerospace and defense dashboard: Commercial aircraft revenue and market share, 2013-2004. Bloomberg Terminal. 

Bloomberg. (2013b). Bombardier Inc.: ESG disclosure score FY 2013-2008. Bloomberg Terminal.

Example:

(Bloomberg, 2013, Commercial Aircraft Market Share table)

Example if using more than one report, table, or dataset from the same year:

(Bloomberg, 2013a, Commercial Aircraft Market Share table)

Example:

(Bloomberg, 2013)

Example if using more than one report, table, or dataset from the same year:

(Bloomberg, 2013a)

(Bloomberg, 2013b)

Note: There is no prescribed style for business database reports in the APA Style Manual. The following suggestion has been developed by York's business librarians.

Corporate Author name. (n.d.).Title of report [Report type]. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from Name of Database.

Example:

PrivCo. (n.d.). HomeLight [Company report]. Retrieved August 29, 2021, from PrivCo Online.

Example if using more than one report, table, or dataset:

PrivCo. (n.d. -a). HomeLight [Company report]. Retrieved August 29, 2021, from PrivCo Online.

PrivCo. (n.d. -b). ProbablyMonsters [Company report]. Retrieved August 29, 2021, from PrivCo Online.

Note: We recommend using n.d. (no date) for PrivCo's company report information, as the content is constantly being updated.

Example:

(PrivCo, n.d., Funding section)

Example if using more than one report:

(PrivCo, n.d. -a, Funding section)

(PrivCo, n.d. -b, Funding section)

Note: There are no page numbers for PrivCo reports. Use section headings for direct quotations.

Example:

(PrivCo, n.d.)

Example if using more than one report, table, or dataset:

(PrivCo, n.d. -a)

(PrivCo, n.d. -b)

Note: There is no prescribed style for business database reports in the APA Style Manual. The following suggestion has been developed by York's business librarians.

Corporate Author name. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report [Report type]. Name of Library Database. 

Example:

Sustainalytics. (2021). Ballard Power Systems [ESG Risk Rating report]. Sustainalytics.

Example if using more than one report from the same year:

Sustainalytics. (2021a). Ballard Power Systems [ESG Risk Rating report]. Sustainalytics.

Sustainalytics. (2021b). Amgen Inc. [ESG Risk Rating report]. Sustainalytics.

Example:

(Sustainalytics, 2021, p. 10)

Example if using more than one report from the same year:

(Sustainalytics, 2021a, p. 10)

(Sustainalytics, 2021b, p. 10)

Note: If you download a Sustainalytics report, you'll be able to see the report's page numbers.

Example:

(Sustainalytics, 2021)

Example if using more than one report from the same year:

(Sustainalytics, 2021a)

(Sustainalytics, 2021b)