| Type | Example |
| Reference List Citation |
Note: There is no prescribed style for business database reports in the APA Style Manual. The following suggestion has been developed by York's business librarians.
Author's last name, A. A. or Corporate Author. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report or type of information being retrieved: Subtitle if any [Type of report]. Name of Library Database.
Example: Daniel Research Group. (2019, September). Unit shipments of mobile personal computers (PCs) and laptops in the United States, from 2013 to 2023 (in millions) [Chart]. Statista. Example if using more than one chart from the same year: Statista. (2020a, July). Share of internet users in Canada with accounts on selected social media platforms as of April 2020, by age group [Chart]. Statista. Statista. (2020b, July). Share of internet users in Canada with accounts on selected social media platforms as of April 2020, by gender [Chart]. Statista. Note: Statista provides charts, reports, and data from governments, trade / industry associations, and their own surveys. Always confirm who is the original author of the data. |
| In-Text Citation: Quote |
Example: (Daniel Research Group, 2019) Example if using more than one chart from the same year: (Statista, 2020a) (Statista, 2020b) Note: For some Statista resources, there will be no page numbers as you will just be using a standalone chart. However, if you download a full Statista report, you will be able to use page numbers. |
| In-Text Citation: Paraphrase |
Example: (Daniel Research Group, 2019) Example if using more than one chart from the same year:
(Statista, 2020a) (Statista, 2020b)
|
| Type | Example |
| Reference List Citation |
Note 1: There is no prescribed style for business database reports in the APA Style Manual. The following suggestion has been developed by York's business librarians. Note 2: Maps and data tables created in SimplyAnalytics do not tend to have titles. Use square brackets to indicate that there is no title. In the square brackets provide enough information that would allow someone else to recreate the process in SimplyAnalytics. Add retrieval date since the data may change depending on when someone accesses this database. This style is based on the advice in Section 9.22 (p.292) in the APA 7th Edition manual. Corporate Author name. (Year of Publication, Month Day). [Description of how you created the map or data table]. Name of dataset in SimplyAnalytics. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from SimplyAnalytics.
Example:
SimplyAnalytics. (2021). [Map showing average total household expenditure on pet expenses in M5V, ON (FSA)]. Environics Analytics Household Spend. Retrieved August 29, 2021, from SimplyAnalytics. Example if using more than one report from the same year: SimplyAnalytics. (2021a). [Map showing average total household expenditure on pet expenses in M5V, ON (FSA)]. Environics Household Spend. Retrieved August 29, 2021, from SimplyAnalytics. SimplyAnalytics. (2021b). [Table showing demographic report for M5V, ON (FSA)]. Environics Demographics Estimates. Retrieved August 29, 2021, from SimplyAnalytics. |
| In-Text Citation: Quote |
Example:
(SimplyAnalytics, 2021) Example if using more than one report from the same year: (SimplyAnalytics, 2021a) (SimplyAnalytics, 2021b, Age section) Note: There are no page numbers for SimplyAnalytics maps or tables; however, you can use a table section heading. |
| In-Text Citation: Paraphrase |
Example:
(SimplyAnalytics, 2021) Example if using more than one report from the same year: (SimplyAnalytics, 2021a) (SimplyAnalytics, 2021b) |
| Type | Example |
| Reference List Citation |
Note: There is no prescribed style for business database reports in the APA Style Manual. The following suggestion has been developed by York's business librarians.
Author's Last Name, A. A. or Corporate Author name. (Year of Publication, Month Day). Title / Description of Data Table [Report type]. Name of Library Database. Tip: Review the Passport example on the Industry Reports section for help with citing reports.
Example:
Euromonitor. (2021). Brand shares of Cat Food in Canada, 2015-2020 [Brand share table]. Passport. Example if using more than one report from the same year: Euromonitor. (2021a). Brand shares of Cat Food in Canada, 2015-2020 [Brand share table]. Passport. Euromonitor. (2021b). Brand shares of Dog Food in Canada, 2015-2020 [Brand share table]. Passport. |
| In-Text Citation: Quote |
Example:
(Euromonitor, 2021) Example if using more than one data table from the same year: (Euromonitor, 2021a) (Euromonitor, 2021b) Note: There are no page numbers for a Passport data table. |
| In-Text Citation: Paraphrase |
Example:
(Euromonitor, 2020) Example if using more than one data table from the same year: (Euromonitor, 2020a) (Euromonitor, 2020b) |
| Type | Example |
| Reference List Citation |
Note 1: There is no prescribed style for business database reports in the APA Style Manual. The following suggestion has been developed by York's business librarians. Note 2: Data tables created in Dapresy do not tend to have titles. Use square brackets to indicate that there is no title. In the square brackets provide enough information that would allow someone else to recreate the process in Dapresy. Add a retrieval date since the data may change depending on when someone accesses this database. This style is based on the advice in Section 9.22 (p.292) in the APA 7th Edition manual. Corporate Author name. (Year of Publication, Month Day). [Description of how you created the data table]. Name of Vividata dataset used to create table. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from Dapresy.
Example:
Vividata. (2021, May 3). [Table showing social media app usage in last month by respondents in age category, 18-24]. Vividata SCC - Spring 2021. Retrieved August 29, 2021, from Dapresy. Example if using more than one report from the same year: Vividata. (2021, May 3). [Table showing social media app usage in last month by respondents in age category, 18-24]. Vividata SCC - Spring 2021. Retrieved August 29, 2021, from Dapresy. Vividata. (2021, May 3). [Table showing social media app usage in last month by respondents in age category, 25-34]. Vividata SCC - Spring 2021. Retrieved August 29, 2021, from Dapresy. |
| In-Text Citation: Quote |
Example:
(Vividata, 2021) Example if using more than one table from the same year: (Vividata, 2021a) (Vividata, 2021b) Note: There are no page numbers for Dapresy tables. |
| In-Text Citation: Paraphrase |
Example:
(Vividata, 2021) Example if using more than one report from the same year: (Vividata, 2021a) (Vividata, 2021b) |